Home  |  Weather  |  Advertising  |  Classifieds  |  Subscription  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Archives
Home|Weather|Advertising|Classifieds|Subscription|Contact Us|About Us|Archives

link exchange; in-house ad

Friday, April 18, 2014

Shirley’s Badminton Classic winners feted

The Top 3 winners in the men’s and women’s singles and doubles divisions of the 2012 Shirley’s Badminton Classic pose for a group photo during the awards ceremony last week at the TSL Sports Complex. (Contributed Photo) The Northern Marianas Badminton Association handed awards and prizes to the winners of the 2012 Shirley’s Badminton Classic last week in a brief ceremony at the TSL Sports Complex in Gualo.

The Top 3 finishers in the men’s and women’s singles and doubles were given medals and cash prizes and several players made it to the podium multiple times to get their rewards.

Andreau Galvez took two gold medals as he won both the men’s A singles and doubles. He teamed up with Hapi Gabriel in winning the gold medal in the doubles. Sam Jones and Glenn Bulltjens settled for the silver, while Macoi Aguda and Ferdie Arago saved bronze.

Arago got his second medal—a silver—in the men’s A singles, while Aguda claimed the bronze in the category.

In Class B, Jexler Caranto swept the gold medals. He topped the doubles event with Joel Ortega. Wowie Abuel and John Revilla and Oh In Bog and Jayalal Rajapakshe went home with the silver and bronze, respectively. In the singles, Oh clinched the silver, while Abuel notched the bronze.

Duplicating Caranto and Galvez’s feats in the men’s Class C was Ramir Belialba, who gained the gold medal in the doubles through the help of Rommel Bartolome. The Class C doubles champions defeated Jordan Pangilinan and Celso Agui, while Son Sung Hun and Kim Young Sik took the bronze. In the singles, Belialba downed Joel Ortega in the finals to take the gold medal, while Brandon Talania won the bronze medal.

In the women’s division, Hannai Choi and Jen Savellano also grabbed two gold medals.

Choi was awarded the gold in the Class A singles, while Angie Ito and Malou Malasarte were given the silver and bronze, respectively. Malasarte then got the gold in doubles when she teamed up with Choi in defeating mother and daughter Loida and Angie Ito. Marlene Peraja and Lani Bartolome walked away with the bronze.

In Class B, Savellano partnered with Alma Ortega in winning the gold medal in the doubles and then stunned Toshiko Obata to wrestle the gold in the singles event. Marylyn Montano clinched the bronze to add to her silver (with Cheng Saturno) in the doubles. Obata and Windy Fernandez got the bronze in the doubles.

In the Class C singles, Janelle Pangilinan was handed the gold after prevailing over Julie Lee, while Ortega settled for the bronze. Ortega earned her second gold medal in doubles, teaming up with Diane Francisco in beating Lee and Pangilinan. Arlene Naguit and Jane Tupaz won the bronze.

Meanwhile, the organizing Northern Marianas Badminton Association thanked all the volunteers and sponsor Shirley’s Coffee Shop for making the annual singles and doubles competition possible.

Back to top Email This Story Print This Story


Home | Weather | Advertising | Classifieds | Subscription | Contact Us | About Us | Archives
©2006 Saipan Tribune. All Rights Reserved