Home  |  Weather  |  Advertising  |  Classifieds  |  Subscription  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Archives
Home|Weather|Advertising|Classifieds|Subscription|Contact Us|About Us|Archives

link exchange; in-house ad

Sunday, April 20, 2014


Swimmers reclaim spotlight

Participants in the 2.5-kilometer race in the 35th Annual SSC Ocean Swim wait for the start of the event. (Roselyn B. Monroyo) After giving way to triathletes for the past two weeks, CNMI swimmers returned to action, competing against Guam and Marshall Islands bets in the 2013 Saipan Swim Club International Invitational Swim Meet and the 35th Annual SSC Ocean Swim.

The host club fielded more than 50 swimmers in the two-day international meet at the Kan Pacific Swimming Pool and were joined by Tsunami Saipan bets, along with representatives from Tsunami Guam, Manukai Athletic Club, Manhoben, and Andersen, and Marshall’s Kwajalein Swim Club. Members of the various clubs and Saipan’s adults swimmers then participated in the ocean swim in the waters off Susupe.

Other notable events last week were the title games in the DLX/Anchor Strong caging, the Pacific Ocean Cup 2, the championship matches in the Sun Palace Hotel Singles and Doubles Badminton Competition 2013, the U17 finals of the Docomo Pacific Spring Break Basketball Tournament, and the Saipan Bowling Association/Budweiser’s March roll-offs.

Adobo won Division B of the DLX caging, beating Gualo Rai in the finals, 66-62, while SSFM grabbed the Division B championship after routing Docomo Pacific, 79-64.

In the Pacific Ocean Cup 2, host MP United FC U12 clinched the championship after outclassing the visiting Vivid Blue in a shootout. Kanoa FC and Tan Holdings FC also joined the four-team tournament.

In the Sun Palace Hotel Singles and Doubles Badminton Competition 2013, Hannah Choi and Jen Savellano won two titles. Choi notched the women’s singles A crown and the doubles tiara with Alma Ortega. Savellano prevailed in the singles B finals and also in the doubles with teammate Cris Obaldo.

Other singles champions in the tournament were Dianne Francisco, Ferdie Arago, Jordan Pangilinan and Daniel Shen. In the doubles, the winners list include Andreau Galvez and Caranto, Saliya Rajapakshe and Oh Im Bog, Jeff Riman and Rommel Bartolome, and Roxe Lazaro and Lanie Santos.

In the Docomo caging, the U17 crown went to Rainbow Supply, which defeated Proa in the finals, 42-39.

In the SBA March roll-offs, Lala Taitano, Robert Talavera, and Ji Hoon Lee topped their respective divisions.

Meanwhile, other on-going leagues/competitions on Saipan continued last week.

Northern Mariana Islands Football Association had its M-League and Women’s M-League, and the youth spring league and Saipan Little League Baseball held Major, Junior, Big, and Senior games.

Back to top Email This Story Print This Story


Home | Weather | Advertising | Classifieds | Subscription | Contact Us | About Us | Archives
©2006 Saipan Tribune. All Rights Reserved