Home  |  Weather  |  Advertising  |  Classifieds  |  Subscription  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Archives
Home|Weather|Advertising|Classifieds|Subscription|Contact Us|About Us|Archives

link exchange; in-house ad

Friday, April 18, 2014

NMA holds last race, thanks 2013 Turkey Trot sponsors

Shane and the Cool Guys run under the rain in Marpi during last year’s NMA Christmas Island Relay.  (ROSELYN B. MONROYO) Northern Marianas Athletics will be holding its last race of the season on Dec. 28 with the staging of the 32nd Annual Christmas Island Relay.

The race is open for team and individual runners. In the team event, each squad can has as much as five members with at least one runner in the over 50, U16 age group, and a female. Runners will alternate after each mile. The 13.7-mile race will start at the southern parking lot of Pacific Islands Club and end at the Last Command Post in Marpi. Registration will begin at 5:15am, while the race starts at 6am. Entry fee is $25 for each team and $10 for individual runners.

Shane and the Cool Guys topped last year’s relay after clocking in at 1:36:45. The champion squad was composed of Ronald Villafria, Noni Eugenio, Shane Fabiana, and Charlie Sendin. Shane and the Cool Guys was the lone four-person squad in the field, as its fifth member (Nap Dizon) joined a bike event on race day.

The Young Manamko’s came in at second after clocking in at 1:38:32. The runner-up team had brothers Michael and Matthew Mancao, Noel Altamirano, Mark Isip, and Fred Camacho as members. Safety First rounded out the Top 3 after submitting 1:38:47. The squad was composed of Ketson “Jack” Kabiriel, James Lee, Amy Sletten, Jerry Diaz, and Banny Younis.

In the solo division, Florence Antonio was the first finisher after recording 2:02:28 mark, followed by Roy Ortizo and Jennifer Young, who registered 2:05:41 and 2:29:44, respectively.

Meanwhile, NMA would like to thank the following for supporting last year’s 2013 Annual Turkey Trot Fun Run: Joeten Group of Companies, McDonald’s, Athlete’s Foot, DFS Saipan, Tan Siu Lin Foundation, Hyatt Regency Saipan, Michael Dotts, Pacific Islands Club, Kanoa Resort, IP&E, and Bank of Guam. (Roselyn B. Monroyo)

Back to top Email This Story Print This Story


Home | Weather | Advertising | Classifieds | Subscription | Contact Us | About Us | Archives
©2006 Saipan Tribune. All Rights Reserved