Home  |  Weather  |  Advertising  |  Classifieds  |  Subscription  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Archives
Home|Weather|Advertising|Classifieds|Subscription|Contact Us|About Us|Archives

link exchange; in-house ad

Thursday, April 24, 2014

Susan’s Creations B leads relay race in ‘Hell’

Nap Dizon of Susan’s Creations B stands up to negotiate an uphill road on the way out to Kagman during last Saturday’s 7th Annual Hell of the Marianas Century Cycle Race. (Roselyn B. Monroyo) Susan’s Creations B emerged as the top finisher in the team event in last Saturday’s 7th Annual Hell of Marianas Century Cycle.

The trio of Nap and Rommel Dizon and Joan Salazar completed the 100-kilometer race in 3:45:47, becoming one of the only two teams in the field to break the four-hour barrier and winning first place in the 3 co-ed road bike category. Team Spam was the other squad to make it to the finish line at Mariana Resort under four hours, as the duo of Heather Kennedy and Tim Goodwin clocked in at 3:52:04.

Team Spam took the top spot in the 2-person co-ed road bike event, beating Two Trying and Texas. Two Trying was composed of husband and wife Joshua and Mamiko Berger and they checked in at the 4:15:04 mark. Texas had Derek Chambers and Tina Goodwin with the former crossing the finish line in 4:19:59.

In the 4-person co-ed road bike category, SWAT recorded 4:41:47, more than eight minutes ahead of runner-up Full Blitz. SWAT had husband and wife Michael and Betty Johnson teaming up with Tony Stearns and the visiting Richard Brostrom. Full Blitz had two female members in Norma Ada and Amy Sletten and completing the squad were Chris Tenorio and Jason Tinney.

In the MTB division, Ilocano registered the fastest time after submitting 4:00:11. The 4-person co-ed team was composed of Nomer Mangalinao, Ric Antonio, Fred Remilloza, and Roger Valencia. The quarter also ruled its category, defeating Sasalaguan and PhairSayles.

Lt. Gov. Jude U. Hofschneider led Sasalaguan roster and was joined by Tinian’s Rommel Isidro, Romy Ampit, and Boyet Austria. The Tinian bets completed the weekend race in 4:14:15, more than two hours ahead of third palce finisher PhairSayles (6:36:46). The No. 3 placer had Lisa and Joel Phair and Codie and Dale Sayles as members.

In the 3-person co-ed division, P4 reached the finish line nearly 17 minutes ahead of Mean Green. The trio of Adam Sablan, Gezzel Nishida, and Juanita Fajardo timed in at 4:59:49 against the 5:15:55 of Mean Green’s Miehua Rengiil, Xiuyun Hocog, and Wolf Mojica. Fan Hongge Fast rounded out the Top 3, as Esther Ada, Judy Torres, and Vince Seman clocked in at 5:19:30.

In the 2-person co-ed race, Team Tan earned the second best time in the MTB category and also won the division after checking in at 4:09:06. Husband and wife Glorybel and Samson Tan were the members of the champion team and was the only squad in their category to finish the race under five hours.

The Crazy Oranges, which had Bruce and Yurie Lorange as members, timed in at 5:01:10, while TenThom of Colin Thomson and Teresa Kim-Tenorio submitted 5:41:56.

In the Manatee division, Real Men-atees’ Steve Nutting and Mark Blackburn logged 4:42:50 to finish ahead of Team Manatee’s John Jones and Jim Arenovski, who registered 5:25:10.

Twenty-four teams joined the weekend race.

Back to top Email This Story Print This Story


Home | Weather | Advertising | Classifieds | Subscription | Contact Us | About Us | Archives
©2006 Saipan Tribune. All Rights Reserved