Home  |  Weather  |  Advertising  |  Classifieds  |  Subscription  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Archives
Home|Weather|Advertising|Classifieds|Subscription|Contact Us|About Us|Archives

link exchange; in-house ad

Sunday, April 20, 2014

NMASA selects awardees tonight

Former TSL Foundation manager Ed Arriola, right, announces the recipient of the Male Student Athlete of the Year award during last year’s NMASA Annual Sports Banquet at the Kanoa Resort, while NMASA president Michael White looks on and Gov. Eloy S. Inos waits to present the trophy to the winner. (Roselyn B. Monroyo) Northern Marianas Amateur Sports Association will select the athletes and officials who made notable achievements last year in a meeting tonight at the conference room of the Gilbert C. Ada Gymnasium.

NMASA will vote for the Male and Female Athletes of the Year, Tan Siu Lin Foundation Male and Female Student Athlete of the Year, Team of the Year, Coach of the Year, Administrator of the Year, and Technical Official of the Year.

Golf’s Leina Kim and volleyball’s Chenny Lizama are automatically nominated for the Female Athlete of the Year plum for winning NMASA’s monthly awards (August and February), while other nominations will still be accepted today and member federations should turn them in before the meeting starts. In the race for the Male Athlete of the Year, there are six contenders so far—volleyball’s Tyce Mister, baseball’s David Camacho and Jordan Pangelinan, volleyball’s John Nekaifes, soccer’s Joe Miller, and cycling’s Nap Dizon.

In the student competition, the early nominees in the boys division are swimming’s Kensuke Kimura and Kento Akimaru, volleyball’s Clay McCullough-Stearns, tennis’ Amami Sakano and Michael Ren, soccer’s Kennedy Izuka, and cycling’s Erico Castro. In the girls division, it will be a battle among swimming’s Miku Tammy and Angel Tan and tennis’ Thea Minor, Mikayla Lopez, and Carol Lee.

McCullough-Stearns and Lopez won the top student athletes plums in 2012. Other awardees in 2012 were Male and Female Athletes of the Year Todd Montgomery and Lia Rangamar, Coach of the Year Jeff Race, and Sports Administrator of the Year Laurie Peterka.

Tonight’s winners will be feted in the 2013 NMASA Annual Sports Banquet that will be held next month.

Meanwhile, nominations from the sports administrator, coach, team, and technical officer should be made in writing and must be submitted today before the 7pm meeting.

Besides choosing the top athletes and officials for 2013, NMASA will also select the CNMI Sports Hall of Fame Class 2014. Two individuals have been nominated to join the elite group of CNMI athletes and officials. NMASA will also elect its board of directors for 2014 at the meeting.

Back to top Email This Story Print This Story


Home | Weather | Advertising | Classifieds | Subscription | Contact Us | About Us | Archives
©2006 Saipan Tribune. All Rights Reserved