Home  |  Weather  |  Advertising  |  Classifieds  |  Subscription  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Archives
Home|Weather|Advertising|Classifieds|Subscription|Contact Us|About Us|Archives

link exchange; in-house ad

Thursday, April 24, 2014

SBA hands award to 8-ball league winners

Thursday League regular season MVPs, from left, Rodel Dela Cruz, Phil Kalen, Ruben Esmundo, and Chester Cuento pose with their awards during the SBA banquet held last Sunday at Charley’s Cabaret.(CONTRIBUTED PHOTO) Saipan Billiards Association presented trophies to the top teams players in the SBA Summer/Fall 8-Ball Open League in a banquet held last Sunday at the Charley’s Cabaret of Pacific Islands Club.

League officials handed the regular season championship trophies to Thursday League’s Poseidon Docomo Drunken Hustlers and Tuesday League’s Jokers IT&E Voyagers. The Hustlers, which is composed of team captain Jerry Soriano, Senen Pangelinan, Rodel Dela Cruz, Robert Sanciangco, Chester Cuento, Phil Kalen, and Roy Pangelinan, defeated Poseidon 8Ballers and Jokers Homeboyz.

The Jokers IT&E Voyagers, which has Rolly Villanueva as captain and Nolan Cultura, Roman Rodriguez, R.J. Mascarinas, Edwin Mascarinas, Zheng Jiang Qing, and Joshua Woodson as members, prevailed against Joe’s St. Trading and Oceanside Docomo Hustlers.

In the Bud Cup, the first place trophies went to Jokers Homeboyz (Thursday) and Oceanside Docomo Hustlers (Tuesday). Playing for the Hustlers in the Tuesday League’s Bud Cup were Soriano, Rowel Mariano, Senen Pangelinan, Josey Lucido, Sanciangco, Erwin Gomez, and Cuento. The Thursday League Bud Cup champion Jokers Homeboys had captain George Lizardo and members Nolan Cultura, Lucido, Jao Bernardo, Villanueva, Joseph Achas, and Woodson.

In the individual awards, Soriano and R.J. Mascarinas brought home the Finals MVP awards in the Thursday and Tuesday divisions, respectively. For the regular season MVP plum, four players bagged the award in the Thursday League, Ruben Esmundo, Chester Cuento, Dela Cruz, and Kalen, who notched 17 wins apiece. In the Tuesday League, Cultura and Luis Fajardo shared the regular season MVP honors after carding 19 wins each.

For the top performer award, Rey Pinangay won in the Thursday League, while Marc Brian Nelvin prevailed in the Tuesday League.

Meanwhile, SBA also honored players who had made the most run the rack. Soriano won in the Thursday League with his 8, while Marc Butac, Villanueva, and Gomez had four apiece in the Tuesday League. (Roselyn B. Monroyo)

Back to top Email This Story Print This Story


Home | Weather | Advertising | Classifieds | Subscription | Contact Us | About Us | Archives
©2006 Saipan Tribune. All Rights Reserved