4Gives FC tops Saipan Elite


4Gives FC’s Andruw Omelau, left, dribbles past Saipan Elite’s Merrick Toves during the second half of their boys U16 division title game in the Saipan Soccer School’s 2017 Youth Summer Futsal Tournament last Saturday at the TSL Sports Complex. (Roselyn B. Monroyo)

4Gives FC was on target early to cruise to an 8-4 victory against Saipan Elite in their title match in the boys U16 division of the Saipan Soccer School’s 2017 Youth Summer Futsal Tournament last Saturday at the TSL Sports Complex.

Edwin Kim and Ronnel Ocanada fired up 4Gives FC’s offense in the first 20 minutes of the championship game to prevail in the winner-take-all finale and rule the four-team division. Kim scored four goals, while Ocanada chipped in three, giving 4Gives FC a 7-3 halftime lead.

Rohan Basnet, Jeremiah Diaz, and Rintaro Miyawaki drilled in a goal apiece for Saipan Elite in the first half and the squad failed to mount a comeback in the second and overhaul the deficit, as only Jaydee Jose hit the board in the final 20 minutes of the title match. 4Gives FC also tallied an own goal in the second for its 8-3 advantage before Jose found his mark late in the game. Saipan Elite, on the other hand, had several chances to score more in the second half, but Kim held his ground when he took the goalkeeping job for 4Gives FC in the final frame. Andrew Omelau then replaced Kim and made a couple of saves before allowing Jose to give Saipan Elite its fourth goal.

Joining Kim, Omelau, and Ocanada on the champion team were Jether Yobech, Kirro Batino, Royce Angelo Ben, Nolan Gatharngel, and David Mafnas. 4Gives finished second behind Saipan Elite in the preliminary round of the tournament and moved to the finals after a 10-6 triumph over NMI U16. Saipan Elite marched into last weekend’s title game following a similar easy victory against HK SSS in the other semis tiff, 8-2.

F. Marinos takes girls U17 title
F. Marinos avoided the upset axe of Marianas Health Armada after grinding out a 2-1 win in their girls U17 division championship game.

Bernadette Horey and Lyka Sally scored the two goals for F. Marinos off Guine Borja’s feeds. Horey made it to the board first in the second half, while Sally drilled the go-ahead. Britanni Wally logged the lone goal for Marianas Health Armada, which forced the title showdown against F. Marinos after stunning the top-ranked Hakone FC in the semis, 2-1.

With the finals win, F. Marinos capped the tournament on a seven-game winning run. It dropped its opener to F. Hakone before sweeping its next five games in the preliminaries and the two matches in the playoffs. The streaking F. Marinos also had Grace Choi, Carla Ballesteros, Julianne Hall, Ruschell Valino, and Mauryzon Tybaco as members.

Kanoa FC 2 gets co-ed U12 crown
Kanoa Football Club 2 clinched the first title at stake in the futsal tournament after shutting down SSS in the finals, 4-0.

Markus Toves, John Mark Anastacio, and Andrew Sablan scored for Kanoa FC, which was credited with an goal in the second half. Devin Propst, Pia and Nolan Ngewaki, Ruben Guerrero, Jared Terlaje, Jeremy Quimzon, and Ronian Laxamana are the other members of the champion team.

Kanoa FC 2, which bowed to SSS in their first meeting (3-8) before winning in their second duel (5-4) in the elimination, was awarded the perpetual trophy while its players received medals. F. Marinos and 4Gives FC also got trophies and medals.

Roselyn Monroyo | Reporter
Roselyn Monroyo is the sports reporter of Saipan Tribune. She has been covering sports competitions for more than two decades. She is a basketball fan and learned to write baseball and football stories when she came to Saipan in 2005.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.