12 educators complete two year PSS Aspiring Leaders Program

Posted on Jul 14 2020

The CNMI Public School System’s Office of Instructional Technology & Distance Education celebrates 12 professionals who completed their Professional Administrative Certification requirements through the Aspiring Leaders Program.

Over the course of the past two years, program participants explored coursework that provides a strong foundation for both school and district leadership and administration. The program consists of Introduction to School Administration, Educational Law, Educational Technology for Administrators, Instructional Leadership, Supervision and Evaluation, School & District Finance, Facilitative Leadership, School Personnel as well as two internships. 

In his welcoming remarks, Education Commissioner Dr. Alfred Ada said, “You’ve committed two years of your life to learn about leadership, and now you’ve completed the Aspiring Leaders Program. The world of leadership is challenging, and you’re now ready to lead and manage change. I thank you for your willingness to lead.”

Each of the 12 participants were also given an opportunity to share their reflections as well as their personal leadership mantra. Among them was Alisa Pangelinan, who was inspired to pursue educational leadership by her late father, Thomas D. Pangelinan, who was an educational pioneer serving as a former instructional leader and Board of Education member. 

“With the right mindset, motivation, support, and faith nothing in life is difficult. The program has really helped to build my confidence to take on the position as a school leader,” Pangelinan said. “The classes have really prepared me to successfully lead, practice what I have learned, and make the leadership lessons authentically my own to better serve the unique needs of my school.”

Board of Education vice chair Herman Atalig congratulated the leaders and highlighted the importance of servant leadership.

Lorraine Catienza and Dr. Bobby Cruz, Instructional Technology & Distance Education leaders, expressed excitement to see the role of technology in supporting continued professional growth, particularly in the area of leadership. 

The 12 Aspiring Leaders Program graduates include Anthony Frank, Le’ah Murphy, Pangelinan, Jerry Diaz, Jude Loste, Denise King, Catherine Acera-Cabrera, Lizelle Amirez, Jaclyn Quitugua, Martina Diaz, Benjamin Jones Jr., and Victorino Borja. (PR)

Press Release
News under Press Release are official statements issued to Saipan Tribune giving information on a particular matter.
Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.