20 make All-Star teams

Mt. Carmel School’s Seok Jun Yun, left, goes up for a shot against Grace Christian Academy’s Amir Abes during the fourth quarter of their title game in the 2017-2018 Commonwealth Coalition of Private Schools Basketball League last Friday at the Gilbert C. Ada Gymnasium. (Roselyn B. Monroyo)

Twenty individuals were selected to the All-Star squads of the high school division of the 2017-2018 Commonwealth Coalition of Private Schools Basketball League.

Grace Christian Academy’s Matthew Mamaril led the Boys 1st Team All-Stars and was joined on the elite group by Marianas Baptist Academy’s Dave Lee and Minsu Park, Mt. Carmel School’s Seok Jun Yun, and Saipan International School’s A.J Hudkins.

Mamaril was the scoring champion in the regular season, as he collected 161 points in eight games for a 20.1 average. He was the only player in the league to average at least 20 points per match and helped the Eagles finish second to Mt. Carmel School in the team standings after the two-round robin preliminary.

Lee registered the second most points in the division with his 137 and averaged 17.1 per game. The three other players who made it to the first team also averaged in twin digits in scoring in the regular season. Yun was ranked third with his 112 points and 14 per game average, while Park and Hudkins recorded averages of 13.9 (111 points in eight games) and 12.9 (104), respectively.

Mt. Carmel School’s Angelo Factor missed the Boys 1st Team All-Stars, but was on top of the second squad selection. He played only seven games, but still averaged in double figures with his 12.9 points (90 total).

Rounding out the Boys 2nd Team All-Stars were Agape Christian Academy’s Dawei Cai and Haolong Cheng, GCA’s Jether Espanola, and MCS’ Matthew Richardson. Cai, Cheng, and Richardson averaged in twin digits in scoring after posting 12.4 (99 points in eight games), 11.9 (95), and 11.3 (79 in seven matches), respectively. Espanola also gained 79 points in eight games for a 9.9 average.

In the girls division, the 1st Team All-Stars were dominated by Mt. Carmel School. MCS 1’s Anne Lei Santos and Quina Flores made the list along with MCS 2’s Riley Buenaventura and Francesca Bucalig and MBA’s Tina Choi.

Santos was the leading scorer in the division with her 13.8 points per game average or 83 total in six matches. She was the only female player to hit double figures in scoring average, as the second ranked Buenaventura logged it 8.3 points (50 total). Flores, Choi, and Bucalig had averages of 6.2, 6, and 5.6, respectively.

For the Girls Boys 2nd Team All-Stars, MCS 2’s Princess Alcantara headed the selection and was in the company of teammate Gia Hemley, MCS 1’s Tawnie Manibusan and Jennifer Villagomez, and Agape’s Victoria Ancheta.

Roselyn Monroyo | Reporter
Roselyn Monroyo is the sports reporter of Saipan Tribune. She has been covering sports competitions for more than two decades. She is a basketball fan and learned to write baseball and football stories when she came to Saipan in 2005.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.