2,508 early votes in 5 days

CEC: 18,526 active registered voters in the CNMI

The 21-day early voting for Saipan and the Northern Islands enters Week 2 today, Tuesday, with a total of 2,508 votes that have so far been cast in four polling sites as of Saturday, five days after the start of the early voting process.

CEC executive director Julita A. Villagomez told Saipan Tribune yesterday that early voting remains smooth but slow and the turnout is still low, and that they have not encountered any major problems so far.

She encouraged voters to exercise their right to vote and avail of the early voting process.

CEC election clerk assistant Edward Seman Bai said that, as of Saturday, out of 2,508 early voters, the biggest number came from Precinct 1, with 856 votes cast, followed by Precinct 5, with 447, and Precinct 3B, with 374.

There were 284 voters from Precinct 2; 212 from Precinct 3A; 192 from Precinct 4; 54 from Precinct 4D; 38 from Precinct 6; and 51 from Precinct 7.

Bai said there are 18,526 registered voters in the CNMI. The largest number of voters are from Precinct 1 with 4,937 registered voters; followed by Precinct 3 with 3,778; and Precinct 5 with 2,771.

Precinct 2 has 1,529 voters; Precinct 4 has 1,694; Precinct 4D (Northern Islands) has 162.

Precinct 6 or Tinian and Aguiguan has 1,724, while Precinct 7 or Rota has 1,931.

The Koblerville Youth Center in Koblerville is the polling site for voters from Precinct 1A or San Antonio, Precinct 1B or San Vicente, and Precinct 1C or Koblerville.

For voters from Precinct 2 or Chalan Kanoa, Precinct 3A or San Jose, and Precinct 3B or Garapan, the polling site is the Pedro P. Tenorio Multi-Purpose Center in Susupe.

For voters from Precinct 4D or Northern Islands, from Precinct 6 or Tinian and Aguiguan, and from Precinct 7 or Rota, but are temporarily staying on Saipan, the polling place is also at the Pedro P. Tenorio Multi-Purpose Center.

For voters from Precinct 4A or Tanapag, Precinct 4B or San Roque, Precinct 4C or Capital Hill, the polling site is the Tanapag Youth Center in Tanapag.

Voters from Precinct 5 or Kagman, shall vote at the Kagman Community Center in Kagman.

The CEC said that voters must ensure that they bring with them an identification card with photo as they will be required to present it in order to be issued a ballot.

For those who are 55 years old and above and those with disabilities, the voting hours will be from 8am to 9am. Voting hours for all registered voters will be from 9am to 5pm.

The seven-day early voting on Tinian and Rota will commence on Oct. 27.

Ferdie De La Torre | Reporter
Ferdie Ponce de la Torre is a senior reporter of Saipan Tribune. He has a bachelor’s degree in journalism and has covered all news beats in the CNMI. He is a recipient of the CNMI Supreme Court Justice Award. Contact him at ferdie_delatorre@Saipantribune.com
Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.