33 Hopwood students are inducted to honor society

Posted on Apr 01 2022


Hopwood Middle School’s National Junior Honor Society members, inductees, administrators, staff, NJHS advisers, faculty council members, and special guests pose after the ceremony at The Kevin’s Restaurant of Aqua Resort Club. (CONTRIBUTED PHOTO)

Hopwood Middle School inducted 33 new members of the prestigious National Junior Honor Society last Thursday, March 24, at The Kevin’s Restaurant of Aqua Resort Club.

The induction’s inspirational guest speaker, Jonathan Aguon, compared the students to a pencil that must sharpen their skills to become better individuals and correct any mistakes they might make. He also said that like the core of a pencil, the most important part of every student is always what is inside and on every surface they are used on, they must leave their mark.

Aguon, who was an active member of the Honor Society when he was a student, currently serves as the principal of Marianas High School and is the youngest Public School System administrator in the CNMI. He has a passion for education and strives to wors toward innovation and continuous improvement. He helped found Da’ok Academy.

According to NJHS Hopwood Middle School chapter adviser Esco Anne Ulloa, “The greatest challenge we are facing for the past two school years is planning for club activities with the many COVID-19 requirements. Another obstacle is trying to bring students from two different sessions—Hopwood is still having AM/PM sessions due to lack of classrooms from typhoon Yutu destruction—to complete and participate in our service projects.

Zack Camacho, Hopwood Middle School NJHS treasurer, shared the same sentiments. “Communication is a struggle. It’s hard to communicate with the other members and administrators due to our school having double sessions. Being a part of NJHS taught me that even though I’ve had struggles, there was always a way to deal with them. I have learned a variety of life skills and was taught the importance of being a good leader. I’ve also learned that being a leader comes with many responsibilities. I learned that there’s always ways to work through or around obstacles, and that can be applied to other things.”

Hopwood Middle School’s National Junior Honor Society officers: From left, Zack I. Camacho, Kianna Rae Palacios, Frances Louise D. Hernandez, Mark Ryan Costales, James Mercader, Hayden Romeo Igisomar, and Damien Alfred S. Santos. (CONTRIBUTED PHOTO)

Hopwood Middle School principal Victorino Borja gave the welcoming remarks. Vice principals Karen Manuel and Ben Seman led the inductees in their pledge membership and gave the closing remarks.

Education Commissioner Dr. Alfred Ada, NJHS Faculty Council members and advisers, and Hopwood teachers, staff, and parents graced the induction ceremony.

The NJHS is an international student organization that consists of chapters in middle schools. It is estimated that more than one million students participate in NJHS activities worldwide. NJHS chapters are found in all 50 states, U.S. territories, and around the world.

NJHS members and
2022 inductees 

President – James Mercader 
Vice President – Mark Ryan Costales
Secretary – Kianna Rae Palacios  
Treasurer – Zack I. Camacho
Historian – Frances Louise D. Hernandez
PRO – Damien Alfred S. Santos

Hayden Romeo Igisomar
Kaye Anne Costales
Sarah Islam
Alexa Ralene Panganiban
Rafael N. Pascual 
John Peter N. Quidato 
Princess Nicole B. Rigua
Simon Roy P. Romero
Jheams Cyrhon A. Sagana

2021-2022 INDUCTEES

8th Grade
Terresa Lin Ahn
Rondelle Nino Apostol
Aron G. Ares
Alinda Rose R. Attao
Maria Corazon A. Batallones
Clyve Jairus De Guzman
Jan Andrei D. Dumagan
Zhendrix G. Jandoc
Enoch Bern T. Pamintuan
Hope Bonniemae T. Sagana
Yvess M. Tamayo
Miragrace Rose C. Tupas
Laura Wang

7th Grade
Rhian Courtney G. Alfonso
Daniella Faith D. Batinggal
Nowrin A. Bhuiyan
Miss Suraiya A. Dristy
Jose Jesus R. Iguel
Ha’ane Bernace A. Manibusan
Daniel Josh B. Pelayo
Tristan Joshua Que
Alyana Marie Rotap
Alex Yang Xiong

6th Grade
Charlotte Amano
Evan Mclaren Carlo Cabrera
Sandra T. Chargualaf
Walter Josh N. Clave
Raven Pascual
Maria Susana N. Quidato
Alexis Danielle M. Salundaguit
Carlin Mei L. Santos
Ricky Tang
Marilet Faye M. Tuazon (PR, Saipan Tribune)

Press Release
News under Press Release are official statements issued to Saipan Tribune giving information on a particular matter.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.