4 nominated for Chamber’s Business Person of the Year


The Saipan Chamber of Commerce has named four individuals as its nominees for the 2017 Business Person of the Year. The winner will be named on Jan. 27 at the Chamber’s annual Business Person of the Year Gala at the Hibiscus Hall of the Fiesta Resort & Spa Saipan.

The nominees are Velma Palacios of IT&E, Tyrell Pauling of the Hyatt Regency Saipan, Ivan Quichocho of Let’s Go Tours, and Yoshihito Shibahata of Pacific Islands Club.

The winner will remain secret until the official announcement at the gala itself on Jan. 27.

The Business Person of the Year Gala, formerly known as the Chamber’s Installation Dinner, is the organization’s signature fundraising event.

Business managers and owners, government officials, and young professionals gather for a fabulous evening. The focus of this year is to celebrate the BPOY nominees while leading up to the official announcement of the winner.

Each nominee must be a member of the Chamber and must reside on Saipan. Qualifying criteria includes active personal participation in the Chamber’s committees, events, programs, and meetings; active community involvement and contributions; and being widely recognized for his/her area of expertise.

The nominations will be judged by the prior recipients of this award and by the four officers of the Chamber board. Prior BPOY awardees include: Mike Sablan of Triple J (2016), Alex Youn of AC Pacific (2015), Vicky Benavente of Pacific Islands Club (2014), Marcie Tomokane of Bank of Guam (2013), Marcia E. Ayuyu of RJ Corporation (2012) and Anthony Pellegrino of Saipan Sea Ventures (2012), James Arenovski of Delta Management Corp. (2011), Bob Jones of Triple J Corp. (2010), Ben Babauta of DFS Saipan (2009), Kathryn H. Barry of KB Communications (2008), K.J. Kim of Asiana Airlines (2007), Juan T. Guerrero of Herman’s Bakery/MITA Travel (2006), David M. Sablan Sr. of Century Insurance (2005), Mark Erwin of Continental Airlines (2004), Jerry Tan of TanHoldings (2003), Alex Sablan of Saipan Shipping Co. (2002), Jay B. Jones of Triple J Motors (2001), Wendi S. Herring of Pacific Islands Club (2000), Marian Aldan-Pierce of DFS Saipan (1999), Joe C. Ayuyu of McDonald’s Saipan (1998), Edward Camacho of Pacific Financial Corp. (1997), and Efrain F. Camacho of EFC Engineers and Architects (1996).

Another highlight of the night is the installation of the 2018 board of directors. They will be sworn in by Associate Judge Theresa Kim-Tenorio. The event will be held from 6pm to 9pm.

Each guest will have the opportunity to participate in a silent auction that will feature a variety of prizes donated by member businesses. Proceeds of the auction will directly support the programs and activities of the Chamber such as its annual scholarships, educational workshops, employment training seminars, military vessel welcomes, and Saipan Young Professionals activities.

Seating is limited. Seats are available by advance purchase only at $75 per person.

The Chamber is a non-profit organization consisting of private businesses, nonprofit organizations, and government agencies. Call 234-7150 or visit the third floor of the Marianas Business Plaza in Susupe for more information. (PR)

Press Release
News under Press Release are official statements issued to Saipan Tribune giving information on a particular matter.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.