52 students inducted into MCS’ two honor societies

Posted on Mar 25 2019


Newly inducted members of Mount Carmel School’s Father Arnold Bendowski Chapter of the National Elementary Honor Society.
(Mount Carmel School)

This past week, 52 students were inducted into Mount Carmel School’s Immaculate Conception Chapter of the National Junior Honor Society, or the NJHS, and Father Arnold Bendowski Chapter of the National Elementary Honor Society, or the NEHS.

As part of the induction ceremony, current honor society students explained the respective values of the honor societies.  For the NJHS, those values are scholarship, service, leadership, character, and citizenship. As for the NEHS, its values are scholarship, responsibility, leadership, and service. Students who have a 3.0 GPA fulfill the scholarship value of each society and are invited to apply for membership, for which they must demonstrate that they embody the other values of each respective society.

After the honor societies’ were explained, inductees were identified by the ceremonious “tapping” ritual, in which current honor society members go around tapping inductees on their shoulders and inviting them to the main staging area to take their oaths, receive their membership insignia, and sign into the membership ledger.

School president Galvin Deleon Guerrero concluded the ceremony by explaining how Fr. Bendowski, the namesake for the NEHS, founded the school in 1952 and used his training as a mason to build the school over the years.

“Honor comes not from serving yourself but from serving others,” Deleon Guerrero said. “And just as Father Arnold served, built, and loved our school, so should you.”

NJHS inductees included Mercedes Cruz, Latisha Anne De Jesus, Princess Amanda Habal, Eunkyu (Joey) Hong, Irene Kim, Jamie Lee, Audrein Jennifer Mallari, Nicole Erin Mariano, Donnie James Militante, Leopoldo Naraja, Kamiya Nicole Obnimaga, Tricia Antonnette Palacios, Kaeli Pathil, Maili Peter, Kaitlyn Punzalan, Leunyce Regalado, Chelsy Anne Reyes, Lyssa Rae Steele, Tyana Kisha Tesiro, and Ari James Toskas.

NEHS inductees included Ainsley Ancheta, Wayne Ano, Asa Backe, Michael Calvo, Kesiil Camacho, Christine Castro, Carly Dela Cruz, Christopher Dela Cruz Guerrero, Patrick Guerrero, Seung Hee Jeon, Maya Jae Jung, Gabin Kim, Leah Lansangan, Justin Mallari, Naomi Matsumoto, Patricia Matsumoto, Hope McQuay, Maya McQuay, Sarah Melchor, Michael Mercado, Julio Mellen B. Monserrat, Nicole Pangilinan, Andrick Poon, Kaden Propst, Frank Reyes, Enzo DLG. Sasamoto, Yukiko S. Sasamoto, Sophia Tenorio, Jose Tenorio, Quince Tizon, and Angel Tengco, Sage R. Villagomez. (PR)

Newly inducted members of Mount Carmel School’s Immaculate Conception Chapter of the National Junior Honor Society. (Mount Carmel School)

Press Release
News under Press Release are official statements issued to Saipan Tribune giving information on a particular matter.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.