MHS National Honor Society members inducted

Posted on Oct 01 1999

The National Honor Society of Marianas High School held its Annual Induction Ceremony on Saturday, September 25, 1999 at 4:00 pm at the Multi-Purpose Center in Susupe.

During the candlelight ceremony, 41 Marianas High School students were inducted into this prestigious organization.

To be eligible for membership consideration, students must excel in scholarship and meet high standards of leadership, service, and character. Leadership is based on the student’s participation in community or school activities, or election to an office. To meet the service requirement, the students must have been active in service projects in the school and community. Character is measured in terms of integrity, behavior, ethics, and cooperation with both students and faculty.

Membership in the National Honor Society is one of the highest honors that can be awarded to a high school student.

Those who offered congratulations to the new members were the Gov. Pedro Tenorio, John Gonzales, Lt. Govemor’s assistant, Dr. Rita Hocog Inos, commissioner of education; David Borja, teacher representative to the Board of Education; Dr. James Denight, MHS principal; Sapuro Rayphand, Eric Hillstrom, Doreen Tudela, Brenda Haddox and Thomas Pritchard, MHS NHS Faculty Council members; teachers, parents, and friends.

During the candlelight ceremony, the newly elected officers were installed: Andrew Borja, president; Min Jung Yoon, vice president; Janice Santos and Jihye Choi, secretaries; Julliver Kintz, treasurer; Carmen Indalecio, historian; and John Jimeno, parliamentarian.

Following the installation and oath of office, the new members pledged to continue to pursue the high ideals of the National Honor Society.

The following students were inducted:

SENIORS: Jerry Diaz, Lani DLGuerrero, Ji Eun Han, Melissa Hernandez, In Young Jung, Marla Palacios, Jenniferlou Paras, Chorong Park, Jung Hyung Park, Christopher Tomokane;

JUNIORS: Michael Brant, Julie Jane Castro, Miki D. Kashi, Jasmine Hernandez, Sherilyn Huertas, Jessica Kingto, Jessilyne Kingto, Geraldine Pangelinan, Jovalyne Rafael, Sarah Sabino, Dora Lynn Sablan, Rosanna Marie Sablan, Eugene Tebuteb, Hee Jung Yoo;

SOPHOMORES: Arthur Agulto, Patrick Antonio, Janice Babauta, Yvonne Cabrera, Jason Castro, Jessica Cepeda, Tracy Del Rosario, Sarah Gross, Christopher Indalecio, Jiyeon Jeong, Rose Marie Jones, Marithel Palacios, Kimberly Reyes, Nina Rivera, Satomi Seki, Diana Taisacan, and Soo Jin Yoo.

These new inductees join our 3 7 continuing members:

SENIORS: Amanda Angel, Frances Babauta, Andrew Borja, Isidro Camacho, Janice Cambe, Eun In Choi, Jihye Choi, Nadine DLGuerrero, Gladys Ecal, Janet Guiao, Carmen Indalecio, John Jimeno, Herbert Justo, Hysen Justo, Eun Jin Kim, Julliver Kintz, Yuri Yuan (Lucy) Lu, Ferdinand Malari, Ronaldo Malabanan, Randy Mendoza, Eleuterio
Palacios, Frankling Palacios,

Marydel Palacios, Kathy Pangelinan, Joo Yeon Park, Carlo Sablan, Janice Santos, Hyonam Shin, Ja Young Sohn, Lyvonn Taisacan, Philip Vilaga, Audra Winkfield; JUNIORS: Joanne Hernandez, John Solomon, Cheryll Taisacan, Min Jung Yoon, and Frances Ziergiebel.

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.