Covenant dominates mayoralty races

Posted on Nov 20 2005

It’s a near sweep for the Covenant Party in the mayoralty races, with the party’s candidates winning the elections on Saipan, Tinian and Aguigan, and Rota, except in the Northern Islands.

Re-electionist Mayor Juan Borja Tudela of Saipan won overwhelmingly in the elections with 3,786 votes.

Even before the Commonwealth Election Commission counted the absentee votes Saturday, Tudela’s high votes have already assured him a second term as Saipan’s mayor. His closest rival, independent candidate Frank Guerrero Cepeda, finished with only 2,075 votes, 1,711 votes behind Tudela’s votes.

Republican Party’s James Aldan Ada ranked next with 2,049 votes; independent candidate Victorino Sablan Cepeda, 1,598 votes; and the Democratic Party’s Ricardo Reyes Duenas, 1,123 votes.

The absentee votes failed to change the preliminary outcome of the mayoralty race on Rota, with Covenant’s Joseph Songao Inos maintaining the top post by finishing with 511 votes.

Inos’ closest rival, the GOP’s Vicente Atalig Manglona, led the absentee votes, getting 95 votes against Inos’ 92 votes. The lead, however, failed to overtake Inos’ votes in the final tally, with Manglona finishing with 500 votes. Independent candidates Victor Borja Hocog and Julian Taisacan Taimanao finished with 385 and 19 votes, respectively.

Covenant’s Jose Pangelinan San Nicolas prevailed in the two-way mayoralty race on Tinian and Aguigan, whose 66 absentee votes gave him a total of 560 votes. Although the GOP’s Joaquin Gillimon Adriano led San Nicolas by four points in the absentee votes, the Republican Party bet finished with only 522 votes.

Independent candidate Valintin Igisaiar Taisakan won a second term for Northern Islands mayor, topping the mayoralty race with his 59 votes against Covenant’s Tobias Dela Cruz Aldan’s 36 votes and GOP’s David Kapileo Peter’s three votes.

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.