Agape A leads Island Relay finishers


Agape Christian School A runners celebrate as they near the finish line of last Saturday’s 36th Annual Christmas Island Relay at the Last Command Post in Marpi. (Roselyn B. Monroyo)

Agape Christian School continued its reign in the Annual Christmas Island Relay as Agape A ruled the 36th edition of the race held last Saturday.

Peter Wang, Jonthan Xiong, William Chen, Leo Li, and David Cai teamed up for Agape A and completed the 13.7-mile run from Pacific Islands Club in San Antonio to the Last Command Post in Marpi in 1:26:30. The quintet broke the time (1:27:42) of 2016 overall winners Jason Wang Shengen, Caleb Wang, Allan Zhao, Henry Xiong, and Hu En Ze of Agape 1.

“We challenged our runners to beat the winning of our team last year and they did it. They led from start to finish,” said Agape’s Kok H. Pang.

Peter Wang was the anchor of Agape A and together with his four teammates, they crossed the finish line more than a minute ahead of runner-up TRAC 1. Keith Longuski led TRAC 1 and joined forces with Charlie Sendin, David Brook, Heather Taylor, and Josh David Joson. The second placers clocked in at 1:28:21.

Rounding out the Top 3 in the open division was Rinty FC, which submitted 1:29:50. Rintaro Miyawaki, Joshua Abragan, Christopher Aninzo, Anthony Fruit, and Clayton Izuka made up Rinty FC.

Meanwhile, in the youth division, TanHoldings emerged as the top finisher with Kaith Lynn Chavez, Mark Esalan, Taka and Ichiro Borja, and Jan Matthew Milo combining for 1:34:08. TanHoldings narrowly defeated Agape B, which posted 1:34:18, while Agape D was at distance third after clocking in at 1:42:23.

In the solo division, Ronald Villafria was the champion after registering 1:43.30, while Max Simian and Edmond Bata came in at second and third after logging 1:50:24 and 1:54:19, respectively.

Thirty joined the team event, while six did the solo race. The Department of Fire and Emergency Management Services fielded eight teams, while Agape had four.

The Christmas Island Relay was the last event of Northern Marianas Athletics for the 2017 season and NMA would like to thank DFEMS, the Department of Public Safety, and all of the group’s sponsors for making the race successful.

Roselyn Monroyo | Reporter
Roselyn Monroyo is the sports reporter of Saipan Tribune. She has been covering sports competitions for more than two decades. She is a basketball fan and learned to write baseball and football stories when she came to Saipan in 2005.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.