Agulto, Rojas lead scorers in Division A


Paire Football Club’s Daniel Agulto and TanHoldings FC’s John Michael Rojas’ three goals apiece lead Division A’s 2018 Fall M-League.

The league, which is on hold after Super Typhoon Yutu hit Saipan and Tinian late last month, is at the early stage of the season and will not resume anytime soon, as Northern Mariana Islands Football Association has yet to decide what to do with the remaining games in the competition.

Agulto had his three goals in Paire’s 8-1 demolition of Matansa FC, while Rojas scored a pair in their 5-2 victory over Korean Football Association on Saipan last Oct. 22.

Seven other players from Division A teams delivered more than one goal after playing in the first two matches of the season. Paire’s Chris Nelson, Brad Ruszala, and Joe Miller have two apiece, the same number that TanHoldings’ Mark Esalan and Razeff Altamirano, and Kanoa’s Jether Yobech and Ronnel Ocanada have.

Meanwhile, Sun Palace’s King Lun Wong has the most goals so far in Division B with four. Shirley’s Jack Phan is in second place with three, while Pacific Islands Club’s Albert Bergancia and Sun Palace’s Young Ha Hwang have two each.

Sun Palace is on top of the team standings with its 2-0-0 win-draw-loss record, while Shirley’s has a 1-1-1 slate. The CNMI Women’s National Team and PIC complete the field and own 1-1-0 and 0-0-3 slates, respectively.

In Division A, Paire and TanHoldings are tied for first with similar 2-0-0 record, while MP United is ranked third with its 1-0-0 records. Kanoa (1-0-1), Old B Bank (0-0-2), Matansa (0-0-2), and KFAS (0-0-1) rounded out the team standings.

Roselyn Monroyo | Reporter
Roselyn Monroyo is the sports reporter of Saipan Tribune. She has been covering sports competitions for more than two decades. She is a basketball fan and learned to write baseball and football stories when she came to Saipan in 2005.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.