All Schools meet top athletes feted


The top performers in the All Schools meet and officials and supporters of the annual tournament pose for a photo during the awards ceremony yesterday at McDonald’s Middle Road. (Roselyn B. Monroyo)

The cream of the crop in the 2018 Public School System/McDonald’s All Schools Track and Field Championships were recognized yesterday during a brief awards ceremony at McDonald’s Middle Road.

Leading the top performers list this year was perennial winner Rintaro Miyawaki of Saipan International School. Miyawaki took the top honors in the boys U13 division to reign in the age group for the third straight season. The SIS student prevailed again this year after winning gold medals in four individual races—400m, 800m, 1,500m, and 3,000m. The awardees in each age group were based on the medals they brought home in individual events.

In the girls U13 age group, the top performer trophy went to Tinian’s Casey Cruz, who collected three gold medals. Two more Tinian students earned top honors in their respective age groups with Ysabella Lenteja and Christopher Cruz ruling the girls U7 and boys U9 divisions, respectively. Lenteja gained three gold medals, while Christopher had the same gold medal output to go with his one silver.

Completing the top performers list were boys U7 and Koblerville Elementary School’s Jephda Hong (three gold medals and one silver); U9 and Brilliant Star School’s Fiona Regan (three golds); U11 and KES’ Sonerson Sorey (two golds and one silver) and Becky Walters (three golds); U15 and Agape Christian School’s Arthur Liang (two gold medals and one silver) and Hopwood Middle School’s Kiana Aldan (three golds and one silver); and U18 and Saipan Southern High School’s Traven Quitugua (four golds) and Marianas High School’s Jaime Pangelinan (four golds).

McDonald’s Middle Road general manager Joe Ayuyu Jr. led the awarding of trophies to the students and was joined in the ceremony by Northern Marianas Athletics president Ray Tebuteb, secretary general Robin Sapong and head coach Elias Rangamar, and PSS athletics director Nick Gross.

“I would like to congratulate all the outstanding athletes for making it this far. Congratulations, too to all the coaches, parents, and the schools. We hope to see you again next year and in the coming years, as McDonald’s will continue working with NMA and PSS in having this program. We’re happy to be part of it. We’re loving it,” Ayuyu said.

Tebuteb, on behalf of NMA, thanked McDonald’s for its unwavering commitment to the program.

“Words are not enough to express our gratitude to McDonald’s generosity. We can’t thank you enough,” said Tebuteb, who also made special mention of the Fire-DFEMS for ensuring the safety of the students during the May 9 to 12 contest at the Oleai Sports Complex.

Roselyn Monroyo | Reporter
Roselyn Monroyo is the sports reporter of Saipan Tribune. She has been covering sports competitions for more than two decades. She is a basketball fan and learned to write baseball and football stories when she came to Saipan in 2005.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.