All set for special polls


The Commonwealth Election Commission is all set for the special election tomorrow, Saturday, during which Precinct 3 voters will choose among four candidates whom they believe should represent them in the House of Representatives.

CEC administrative officer Kayla Igitol said yesterday they are prepared for Saturday’s special election and that the two polling places will open at 7am and close at 7pm.

“We want our registered Precinct 3 voters to come out and exercise their right to vote,” Igitol said.

The candidates are Marco Taisakan Peter of the Republican Party, Donald Cabrera Barcinas of the Democratic Party, and independents David Castro Sablan and Mariano DLG Fajardo.

Igitol said voters must ensure that they bring with them a picture identification card as they will be required to present it in order to be issued a ballot.

Igitol said as soon as all ballots are turned in Saturday night, tabulation will follow at the Pedro P. Tenorio Multi-Purpose Center in Susupe.

The designated polling venues for the special election are room 18 of Oleai Elementary School for Precinct 3A voters and the cafeteria of Garapan Elementary School for Precinct 3B voters.

Precinct 3A covers San Jose/Oleai, while Precinct 3B covers Garapan area.

Igitol said there were 98 early voters yesterday, bringing the total of early voters to 649.

The seven-day early voting, which has been held at the Garapan Community Development Center, started last Saturday and will end today, Friday.

As of last Jan. 28, there were 3,361 registered voters for Precinct 3.

The special election is being held following the death of representative Francisco D. Dela Cruz last January.

Ferdie De La Torre | Reporter
Ferdie Ponce de la Torre is a senior reporter of Saipan Tribune. He has a bachelor’s degree in journalism and has covered all news beats in the CNMI. He is a recipient of the CNMI Supreme Court Justice Award. Contact him at
Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.