Barcinas, Rabasto gain division MVP awards; Lizama earns Finals MVP


Pacific Islands Club’s Sean Rabasto takes off for a fastbreak layup during their playoff game against DFEMS in the IT&E inter-government/business league last week at the Gilbert C. Ada Gymnasium. (Roselyn B. Monroyo)

MJD Enterprises’ Dan Barcinas and Jack Lizama won MVP honors in the 2016 IT&E Inter-Government/Business Basketball League, while Pacific Islands Club’s Sean Rabasto also earned the coveted individual award at the conclusion of the competition last week at the Gilbert C. Ada Gymnasium.

Barcinas was named regular season MVP in Division A of the league, while Rabasto was the recipient of the same award in Division B. Lizama, on the other hand, bagged the Finals MVP trophy after helping MJD beat Department of Fire and Emergency Medical Services in the title match, 86-73, last Wednesday.

Lizama tallied 18 points in the finale and was the third best scorer for his team against DFEMS behind Matt Duenas (26) and Douglas Schmidt (24). His timely jumpers in the second half of the title game foiled DFEMS’ repeated comeback bids, but the former CNMI national team member was best remembered for hitting a clutch triple that helped MJD make it into the finals. Lizama unloaded a corner triple off a pass from Schmidt in the closing seconds of the fourth quarter of their semis game against DFS Galleria, sending the game in overtime, 81-81. MJD went on to pull off a 92-89 victory in the extension with Lizama adding 4 more points in the extra period for a game-high 28 markers. The eventual Finals MVP was a consistent double figure scorer in the playoffs, as he earlier knocked in 12 points in their 104-82 rout of Northern Marianas Sports Association.

Meanwhile, Barcinas topped two categories in the regular season to win the MVP honors in Division A. He led the pool in assists with his 9.2 per game and was the steals champion, too with an average of 5.16 per match. He also averaged close to 10 markers per game.

In other categories, Department of Public Safety’s Fred Pelisamen was named scoring champ for posting 32.42 points per match, while NMSA’s Nak Nakashima ruled the rebound department with his 14.41 average. Jack Lizama was the blocks champion with his 4.0 average.

In Division B, Rabasto was among the top scorers (16.7 average) for PIC and ruled the assists department in their group to bag the regular season MVP plum. Other individual awardees in Division B were scoring champion and the Feds’ Ronnel Gamboa (21.28 points per match; rebounds champion Maverick Itibus (11.83) of Customs; steals champion Ben Lisua (4.82) of DFEMS; and blocks champion Zachariah Johnson (3.66) of CHCC.

In the team awards, PIC and MJD received the pennants in Division B and A, respectively. Both were undefeated in seven games in the regular season.

Roselyn Monroyo | Reporter
Roselyn Monroyo is the sports reporter of Saipan Tribune. She has been covering sports competitions for more than two decades. She is a basketball fan and learned to write baseball and football stories when she came to Saipan in 2005.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.