Saracho sweeps Truggy class again in June race

Posted on Jun 29 2011

Jojo Saracho dominated the 1/8 Nitro Truggy class for the second time in a month after conclusion of the Saipan Radio Control Racers June race held in the rain last Sunday at its track in As Lito

Jude Dickinson took first place in the Open-class short course electric race for his third straight win, while Paul Salalila and Kurt Diaz won their respective A and B Main electric short course class races.

Rodney Catalla’s Team Associated RC8T took the pole in the Truggy qualifier, but finished second in the finals to Saracho’s Mugen MBX6T; Emir Abuan’s Kyosho STRR came in the third place.

Dickinson’s Traxxas-Slash car was also the top qualifier of the Open class field. Salalila’s Kyosho Ultima SCR finished second place in front of Catalla’s Traxxas Slash.

Dickinson again won the pole in the Main-A class, but was booted off the podium in the finals by Catalla and third place finisher Leo Gatus; all four racers navigated Traxxas Slash cars.

Diaz’s Traxxas Slash dominated the Main-B class field, ahead of Abuan’s Team Associated SC10 and Vincent Sablan’s Traxas Slash; Diaz was also deemed top qualifier heading into the final heat.

There are over 20 active SRCR members, and growing, which regularly take part in practices at the As Lito track every Saturday from 2pm to 6pm.

SRCR also tries to hold daylong monthly races usually on Sundays from 9am to 5pm in their two racing classes. The novice class was added because of the recent additional turnout. The public is welcome to check out the track to learn more about the hobby.

For more information, contact Rodney Catalla at 234-5911, 256-7119, or email

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.