Traders Insurance badminton tournament opens tomorrow

Posted on Nov 10 2011

The 5th Annual Traders Insurance Badminton Team Tournament will kick off tomorrow at the TSL Sports Complex with five clubs competing for this year’s championship.

The list includes Taga Badminton Club, Saipan Badminton Club, Golden Rackets, Berks Blazers, and Shirley’s Badminton Club. It will be the first time that actual clubs will participate in the Traders tournament, as the first four editions of the annual event sort of implemented an inter-color competition. Last year, the Pink Dynamites won the championship after beating the Black Hawks in the finals, 20-9.

The fifth edition of the year-end tournament is made possible with Traders Insurance reaffirming its commitment to NMBA after turning over a $1,500 donation for the team competition.

“Even though the CNMI is affected by the declining global economy, Traders Insurance would like to continue supporting sports activities here to create an active and healthy environment for members of our community,” said Traders Insurance chief operating officer and general manager Ernesto Licop, who joined vice president Malou Mendoza in the donation turnover ceremony yesterday at the company’s office in Oleai.

NMBA officials Shirley Kim, Merlie Tolentino, Roger Valez, and Puy Macario were also present at the ceremony.

Meanwhile, this year’s team tournament will allow each club to have 12 players in their respective rosters. Players can only play in two matches against the opposing club. Teams will field players in 11 categories: men’s doubles Class A and Lower A, Class B, and C; women’s doubles Class A and Lower, Class B, and Class C and below; mixed doubles Class A and Lower, Class B, and Class C; and men’s and women’s singles, which are open to players in all classes.

Participating clubs will play in a round-robin format with the Top 4 advancing to the cross-over semifinals. Pairings for the semis will be No. 1 versus No. 4 and No. 2 against No. 3. Games will be played on weekends and will run until Dec. 4. The opening ceremony will start at 6:30pm.

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.