BECQ names two employees of the year


The Bureau of Environmental and Coastal Quality honors some of its employees for exemplary service to the public. (Contributed Photo)

In commemoration of Public Servants Recognition Week, the Bureau of Environmental and Coastal Quality recognized over 10 employees for their exemplary dedication to their jobs and named two overall best division employees.

The Division Employee of the Year award for DCRM was given to Charito Bautista and the Leadership Award for the same division was given to Jonathan Arriola.

The Division Employee of the Year award for DEQ was given to Anne Marie Navarrete and the Leadership Award for the same division was given to Ben Benavente.

Bautista was surprised when she was called up to receive her award because she felt there are others who deserved the award too.

According to Bautista, she has been working with BECQ for three years and she appreciates that BECQ recognized her efforts despite being practically new at her job

Navarrete said the award motivates her to continue with the quality of work she does and to improve if there is room for improvement.

Gov. Ralph DLG Torres said it is important to recognize the CNMI’s public servants for all the tremendous work they put into the development of the community everyday.

Torres said that public servants like Navarrete and Bautista deserve all the praise and recognition for the amount of sacrifices they make and the quality of work they bring to the table.

Aside from BECQ, Torres also visited other government agencies including the Marianas Visitors Authority, the Saipan Mayor’s Office, and the Commonwealth Development Authority on Monday.

Other awards distributed include Best Attendance, Most Loyal, Most Organized, Social Director, Fitness Freak, Office Fashionista, Best Smile, Biggest Bark No Bite, and Jack-of-All-Trades.

At BECQ, the Best Attendance award went to Edward Dela Cruz; the Most Loyal award was given to Navarrete; the Most Organized award was given to Robert Deleon Guerrero; the Social Director award was given to Jose Kaipat; the Fitness Freak award was given to Rodney Camacho; the Office Fashionista award went to Olivia Tenorio; the Best Smile award went to Melvin Piteg; the Biggest Bark, No Bite award was given to Carlos Ketebengang; the Jack of All Trades award was given to Jacob Lizama; and the Biggest Spender award was given to Jose Kaipat.

Bautista and Navarrete were awarded plaques with a matching bonus of $250. The two will vie for the position of overall Employee of the Year that will be announced during the annual Labor Day celebration. Other awardees were given plaques of appreciation.

Kimberly Bautista Esmores | Reporter
Kimberly Bautista Esmores has covered a wide range of news beats, including the community, housing, crime, and more. She now covers sports for the Saipan Tribune. Contact her at

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.