Bike Pro, Budoy top ‘Hell’ relays

Posted on Dec 09 2011
By Roselyn Monroyo

Members of Budoy pose with their medals after winning the men's 4-person relay race (mountain bike division) in last Saturday's 5th Hell of Marianas Century Cycle Race. (Roselyn B. Monroyo) Bike Pro and Budoy led the relay winners in last Saturday’s 5th Hell of Marianas Century Cycle Race.

Bike Pro came out as the first 4-person team to finish the 100-kilometer race after timing in 4:01:23.53. The quartet is composed of brothers Romeo and Ronald Lanuza, Regina Sebial, and Bernard Laborce and won the 4-person mixed relay in the road bike division.

Other road bike top placers were 3-Men Team, and Team Manatee.

The 3-Men Team had Kaisei Toda, Mike Pai, and Brad Ruszala as members, and they completed the around the island race in 4:23:46.18 to beat Team 757 (4:57:27.18) and Jayelin Team (5:10:53.25) in the men’s division.

Team Manatee, which is composed of Steve Nutting, John Jones, Jim Arenovski, and Mark Blackburn made it to the finish line in San Antonio at the 4:53:47.91 mark.

Budoy, which was anchored by Rod Reyes and had Edgar Abalos, Rex Vea, and finisher James Abuy as members, was the second 4-person team to cross the finish line and first in the mountain bike category. Abuy reached San Antonio before 11am and his team had an official time of 4:22:04.75.

Budoy prevailed in the men’s mountain bike relay division against Team Wildebeest (4:49:09.02) and Doco Mofos (5:04:53.97).

In the mixed division, Joan Salazar, Larry Malig, Enrique Suba, and Edgar Genobaten of H&R Block submitted 4:25:42.25 to finish ahead of Team Golds (4:40:59.66) and the team led by Father Ryan Jimenez.

In the Team 200, which was for squads with combined age of 200, the Heart Throbs won with a time of 5:31:01.78. The champion squad is composed of Randy Harper, James Hofschneider, Richard Pierce, and Jerry Facey.

In the two-person mountain bike race, Ricky Melchor and Nelson Pagaduan teamed up to win the men’s division with the field’s best time of 3:51:00.91. In the mixed relay mountain bike division, Amy Sletten and Christopher Tenorio won after completing the race under five hours (4:59:21.78), while husband and wife Tim and Tina Goodwin took the top prize in the road bike category after timing in at 4:10:31:12.

In the women’s division (road), Angie Mister joined forces with Heather Kennedy and they combined for 4:19:29.75 to claim first place, while Fred Camacho and Alex Gozon ruled the men’s division.

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.