Blanco elected as Zoning Board chair for fourth time in row


Diego C. Blanco was elected on Thursday as CNMI Zoning Board chairman again, taking the helm for the fourth time in a row.

Members of the Zoning Board also elected Bruce Bateman as vice chairman, Joe Ayuyu Jr. as secretary, and Mariano Taitano as treasurer.

“I am so honored that my colleagues re-elected me again. I thank them for their confidence in me,” Blanco told Saipan Tribune.

Blanco said the chairman is a difficult position especially when there is a controversial issue.

“But we do our best to work within the [Zoning] code as well as work with the Zoning Office,” said Blanco, adding that all board members are volunteers.

The board still needs three more members. Board members elect their officers every year.

The chairman said to be a board member is really a thankless job as they can’t please everybody.

Asked about the board’s priorities this year, Blanco said Garapan is getting too congested and that they are suggesting “something” to the Legislature on their next meeting.

Ferdie De La Torre | Reporter
Ferdie Ponce de la Torre is a senior reporter of Saipan Tribune. He has a bachelor’s degree in journalism and has covered all news beats in the CNMI. He is a recipient of the CNMI Supreme Court Justice Award. Contact him at

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.