6 win State Mathcourt contest

Posted on Feb 03 2014

Six students from private and public secondary schools were this year’s big winners in the State Mathcourt Competition, earning the right to compete at the national level as the official CNMI Mathcourt Team.

Dora Miura, Public School System Mathcourt competition coordinator for secondary schools, disclosed to Saipan Tribune that 11 teams participated in the state event, held at Saipan Southern High School on Jan. 11.

All participants went through the competition format used in Mathleague, which includes a team round, a relay round, a spring round, and a target round.

Won Woo Choi, an 11th grader from Marianas Baptist Academy, emerged as the gold medal winner in the state competition

Hailed as the second top performer and silver medalist this year is 10th grader Harim Kim, also from MBA.

The bronze award went to Saipan Southern High School’s 12th grader Kay Ha, while fourth place went to SSHS 11th grader Hyun Bin Hwang. In fifth place is 11th grader Jun Seo Park, also from SSHS.

Ha Yong Seo, an 8th grader from Marianas Baptist Academy, was named a qualifier from the middle school division and will join the CNMI Mathcourt Team.

On the list of alternates for the national Mathcourt event are Jeremy Kong (8th grade, Agape Christian School); Ming Zhe Li (11th grade, ACS); Dong Hee Im (10th grade, Saipan International School); Kanata Omori (12th grade, Marianas Baptist Academy); and Justin Youm (11th grade, Grace Christian Academy).

[B]Top teams[/B]

Based on the result of the State Mathcourt competition, five schools teams were recognized as the best in this year’s event.

The gold medal award for group team was bagged by MBA with members Won Woo Choi, Kanata Omori, and Harim Kim.

The silver medal in the group category went to SSHS, with members Hyun Bin Hwang, Jun Seo Park, and Kay Ha.

The bronze medal went to the SIS team with members Dong Gu Hyun, Dong Hee Im, and Jee Hyun Lee.

Fourth placer is ACS team with members Allen Guo, Bei Bei Chen, and Ming Zhe Li.

[B]League championship[/B]

According to Miura, the CNMI Team is now preparing for the League Championship in Kansas, Missouri, to be held on May 16 this year. The group will be joined by their coach, Emanuel P. Borja.

The CNMI Mathcourt competition began in 2005 in order to promote mathematics in the CNMI.

The CNMI sent its first state team to the American Regions Mathematics League Competition in 2010.

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.