Camacho, Borja, and Mereb get top votes


Lareina C. Camacho, a first-time candidate for elective office, has topped the election for Saipan and Northern Islands Municipal Council.

She is joined by Diana H. Borja of Tinian and Ivan Mereb Jr. of Rota as the top vote-getters among the municipal council candidates of their respective districts, based on unofficial results by the Commonwealth Election Commission.

For the three vacant positions in the Saipan and Northern Islands Municipal Council, Camacho had 5,418 votes, followed by Antonia Tudela with 4,924, and Alice Igitol with 4,799—all of them women.

Although Igitol topped Camacho with nine votes in the early voting, Camacho topped every election district, including absentee (as of yesterday, absentee votes for Saipan Municipal Council had yet to be counted), while Igitol took hold of election district four.

For the Tinian and Aguigan Municipal cCouncil, Borja received the highest vote, 889―just 80 votes more than Edwin Hofschneider. One other new council member is Reynaldo M. Cing, who received a total of 730 votes.

On Tinian Borja received majority of the on-island votes, the absentee votes, and the early voting.

For the Rota Municipal Council, Mereb received 621 votes. Other new soon-to-be council members are Roman M. Calvo with 553 votes and George O. Hocog with 596 votes.

Mereb bested Hocog and Calvo on on-island votes, while Calvo won the absentee votes by one, and Mereb took back the lead with the early votes.

Jayson Camacho | Reporter
Jayson Camacho covers community events, tourism, and general news coverages. Contact him at

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.