Canarejo is 2016 Miss Teen Pusong Pinoy


Clarice Mhae Canarejo showed the confidence and poise the judges were looking for, and was crowned the 2016 Miss Teen Pusong Pinoy at a packed Royal Taga Hall of the Saipan World Resort last Saturday.

“I’m happy and grateful for this win. I thank God for giving me this blessing. I also thank all of my friends for their support,” said Canarejo, who now joins previous winners Angel Malasarate (2012) and Melody Johnson (2013). Juliet Inocencio was the 2014 Miss Little Pusong Pinoy.

The nursing student at Northern Marianas College, whose parents Federico and Cecille hail from Bulacan province in the Philippines, also credited her experience of joining beauty pageants in the Philippines as her advantage over the 13 other candidates.

Canarejo, who won $800, also got the most number of votes from 20 randomly selected individuals who picked the Miss Photogenic award. She was also the Star of the Night.

“Helping my family is my priority after I finish nursing. I would also pursue my own dreams. If given a chance and with my parents’ approval, I would love to join the Binibining Pilipinas.”

Rhine Jaydel Russel was the first runner-up and won $500, while Erica Faye Tubera won $300 for being the second runner-up. Russel was also named Miss Congeniality and earned the Best in Talent with her lively ballroom dance.

Angela Barbo showed the enthusiasm and energy to earn the Spirit Award, Adonna Mari Matutino was the Miss Charity awardee after being the candidate who helped the organizers with their fundraising efforts, while Chloe Hazel Ann Salvosa, who wowed the crowd with her magic tricks, owned the catwalk with the Best in Evening Gown award.

Pageant director Ernie Molina said the organizers and the United Filipino Organization were overwhelmed with the support shown by the community.

“All the candidates did a good job. It was another packed audience at the World Resort. Thank you to all who helped us organize the event and to all of those who came to watch and cheered for their bets,” said Molina.

Mary Angela Cabrera, Catherine Kate Castro, Janelle S. Lavetoria, Queen Anne Lopez, Mazie Anne A. Manalang, Mary Lenor Sablan, and twins Michaella Serrano and Mikamaika Serrano were the other candidates.

Philip Canuto, Roxanne Diaz, 2003 Miss CNMI World Kimberly Reyes, 2011 Miss CNMI International Rowina Torres, and Ulysses Sabuco are the judges. Reigning Miss Marianas Jian Joyner also graced the event and she helped crown Canajero.

IT&E, TSL Foundation, Genoveva’s Hair Power, T-Galleria, Elegance Café, and Western Union were the sponsors of the show.

Jon Perez | Reporter
Jon Perez began his writing career as a sports reporter in the Philippines where he has covered local and international events. He became a news writer when he joined media network ABS-CBN. He joined the weekly DAWN, University of the East’s student newspaper, while in college.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.