CEC OKs 13 polling stations

Posted on Feb 14 2014


The Commonwealth Election Commission board of directors has approved the designation of 13 official polling precincts for this year’s general elections.

The decision was made during the board’s meeting Tuesday on Rota where members re-elected Frances Sablan anew as their board chair for another year. Named vice chair is Donald Hofschneider.

The CNMI’s general election is set on Nov. 6 this year and the governor and lieutenant governor positions are among the spots up for grabs.

CEC executive director Robert Guerrero said yesterday that the early designation of the polling stations is for the start of the sites’ maintenance and for early voting activities.

Hopwood Junior High School, Dandan Elementary School, and Koblerville Youth Center are the designated polling sites for precinct 1 voters. This precinct covers registrants from San Antonio, San Vicente, and Koblerville area.

For Precinct 2 voters from Chalan Kanoa and Susupe areas, their official polling station is the Joeten Kiyu Public Library. The Gilbert C. Ada Gymnasium and the Garapan Elementary School northern side will accommodate voters for precinct 3 covering the areas of Oleai and Garapan.

Official polling stations for Precinct 4 are the Tanapag Youth Center, the Gregorio T. Camacho Elementary School, Legislature Building, and the Northern Islands. Precinct 4 voters are from Tanapag, San Roque, Capitol Hill, and Northern Islands.

Voters in Precinct 5, covering residents of Kagman, now have a new polling site, the Kagman Elementary School.

The Tinian Elementary School remains the official polling station for Precinct 6 while voters on Rota will have to go to the Northern Marianas College campus to cast their votes.

Voters’ registration for the general elections is now ongoing.

As of Jan. 13, 2014, CEC had a total of 15,736 registered voters. For the Northern Marianas descent, there are over 6,000 on the list to date.

Of the 15,736 registered voters, 12,849 are from Saipan; Tinian, 1,309; and Rota, 1,578. Those numbers will still rise in the coming months until the registration deadline on Sept. 6.

According to Guerreero, CEC expects to accommodate over 16,000 voters in this year’s elections.

Moneth G. Deposa | Reporter

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.