Close win for SBC in Monday Night League


From left, Simon Manacop, Gigi and Raymond Zapanta, and Ador Dimaano of Saipan Bowling Center pose with their championship trophy during the awards ceremony for the 23rd Philippine Bowling Association-Budweiser Monday Night League held late last month at the SBC. (Contributed Photo)

Saipan Bowling Center nosed out Pin Busters and IT&E Unlimited for the overall championships in the 23rd Philippine Bowling Association-Budweiser Monday Night League.

SBC finished the 18-week competition with a 47-25 record, narrowly beating Pin Busters, which earned a 46-26 mark. IT&E Unlimited registered a 44.5-27.5 record to rank third and was followed by ROSCOS (41.5-30.5), Saolak Camacho (40.5-31.5), DU-31 (39.5-32.5), Astig (34-36), J’s Restaurant (31.4-40.5), and Putitin (23.5-48.5).

The champion team was anchored by Raymond Zapanta, who ruled three of the four individual categories. Joining Zapanta on SBC were Simon Manacop, Ador Dimaano, Lala Taitano, Raymond Angeles, and Ross, Gigi, and Raphael Zapanta.

Raymond topped the scratch game, scratch series, and handicap series after registering 268, 702, and 726 pinfalls, respectively. He won over Dimaano (681 and 726) in the scratch series and handicap series and versus Manacop (266) in the scratch game. Manacop foiled Raymond’s bid for a sweep after prevailing in the handicap game, 282-276.

Kathy Mersai of the Pin Busters went 4-for-4 in the women’s division after registering 235 and 665 in the scratch game and scratch series and 254 and 715 in the handicap game and handicap series. Gloria Omechelang of ROSCOS was ranked second in the scratch game (221), scratch series (655), and handicap game (252), while SBC’s Gigi Zapanta was the runner-up in the handicap series (643).

Mersai completed her impressive performance in the Monday Night League after taking the individual high average most improved average honors. She averaged 180.97 to beat Omechelang (164.04), Saolak Camacho’s Janice Camacho (152.30), and Astig’s Cora Muna (149.33).

In the men’s field, Talavera had the high average with his 192.78 topping the 190.58 and 186.80 of Raymond and Percy, respectively. Percy, on the other hand, won in the most improved average category after downing Putitin’s Julian Camacho (142.53) and Du-31’s Lito Teodoro (177.27).

In the team event, SBC dominated the handicap game (911) and handicap series (2,531), while IT&E Unlimited (821) and Pin Busters (2,298) ruled the scratch game and scratch series, respectively.

Roselyn Monroyo | Reporter
Roselyn Monroyo is the sports reporter of Saipan Tribune. She has been covering sports competitions for more than two decades. She is a basketball fan and learned to write baseball and football stories when she came to Saipan in 2005.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.