CNMI Junior All-Stars vs PH in ASPAC opener


The CNMI Senior and Junior All-Stars players and officials pose for a photo after arriving in Pampanga, Philippines to compete in the 2018 Asia Pacific-Middle East Regional Tournament. (Contributed Photo)

The CNMI Junior All-Star Team and host Philippines will kick off the action in the 2018 Asia Pacific-Middle East Regional Tournament tomorrow at the Global Villages, Clark Freeport Zone in Pampanga.

The CNMI versus Philippines game will start at 7am (5am Saipan time). The host will be represented by the team from Tanauan Little League from Batangas, while the Commonwealth bets will be led by players from Comets 1, which ruled the 2018 Saipan Little League Baseball after beating the Falcons in the finals last Sunday.

Manager Greg Camacho will lean on regular season and Finals MVP Bing Nakamura, who is joined on the team by Reid Teregeyo, Justin Agulto, Nathan Aizon, Heath Camacho, Patrick Celis, Justin Magofna, Jonathan Riungel, Keoni Serrano, Antonio Norita, Alex Achas, Joseph Ada, Ohane Borja, and Jason Joseph Reyes. Ned Norita and Herman Kintol are the coach and assistant coach, respectively.

After their game against the Philippines, the CNMI Junior All-Stars will duel China this Sunday, while their last two matches will be against Chinese-Taipei (July 3) and Hong Kong (Julu 4). Only the Top 4 teams will advance to the playoffs with the No. 1 and 4 squads battling for the first finals ticket and the No. 2 and 3 finishers squaring off for the remaining slot to the title game. The semis matches will be played on July 5, while the finals date will be announced later.

In the Senior League division, the CNMI won’t be playing until this Sunday when it takes on neighbor Guam in the second game. After dueling Guam, the Doru Camacho-managed team will meet Indonesia (July 2) and New Zealand (July 3).

The top finisher in the group will automatically move into the semis, while the No. 2 to 7 placers will vie for the three remaining Final Four tickets.

The CNMI Senior All-Stars are represented by players Leveque Iguel, Vicente Camacho II, Josenio Alvarez, Kianna Aldan, Pedro Maratita, Jordan Babauta, Dennis Cabrera, Justin Peter Celis, Aven Evangelista, Joaquin Fleming, Trevon Lieto, Ignacio Mendiola, Donovan Deleon Guerrero, Joel Norita, Orren-Cody Cruz, and Arby Yaguel.

Winners of the Junior and Senior League titles will represent the region in the World Series.

Meanwhile, the CNMI Major All-Stars Team is now in Korea to compete for the World Series slot in the division.

The game schedule of the Manny Evangelista-managed squad has yet to be determined, but the CNMI is in Pool A with the host, China, Indonesia, and Guam. Pool B has Hong Kong, the Philippines, Chinese-Taipei, New Zealand, and Thailand.

Roselyn Monroyo | Reporter
Roselyn Monroyo is the sports reporter of Saipan Tribune. She has been covering sports competitions for more than two decades. She is a basketball fan and learned to write baseball and football stories when she came to Saipan in 2005.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.