Colin, Hyejin atop tennis rankings



As expected, Colin Ramsey and Hyejin Elliott are No. 1 in the men’s and women’s open rankings of the 2022-2023 Northern Mariana Islands Tennis Association.

Ramsey, so far, has accumulated 3,000 points for winning the men’s open singles of the Tan Holdings Tennis Classic, SIS Student Council Tennis Tournament, and the White Coconut Classic Tennis Tournament. Each of those wins gave him 1,000 points.

Tomas Abel is second in the men’s open rankings with 1,850 points. He made the semifinals of the Tan Holdings Tennis Classic, second in the SIS Student Council Tennis Tournament, and again made a Final Four appearance in the White Coconut Classic Tennis Tournament. Abel received 750 points for the runner-up finish in the Tan Holdings tourney and 500 points apiece for making it to the semis of the two latter competitions.

Up-and-coming netter David Kwon completed the Top 3 in the men’s open rankings with 1,600 points. He made it to the quarterfinals of the Tan Holdings Tennis Classic, the semis of the SIS men’s open singles and quarters of the doubles, and advanced to the Final Four of the White Coconut Classic.


Elliott, meanwhile, had bookend championships in the Tan Holdings and White Coconut tourneys plus a runner-up finish in the women’s open and won the women’s doubles of the SIS tourney to garner 3,000 points.

Serin Chung is 250 points behind her Northern Marianas Pacific Mini Games 2022 teammate with 2,750 points built on the runner-up finishes to Elliott in the Tan Holdings and White Coconut tourneys and a championship in the singles and second place finish in the SIS tourney.

Hoo Wang is third in the women’s open rankings with third place finishes in all three tourneys and a third place finish in the SIS doubles.

Cody Shimizu currently paces the men’s 4.0 with 1,400 points. He got 1,000 points for topping the SIS tourney and 400 points for coming in fifth in the White Coconut.

Taher Shakir is second in the division with 1,275 points. He made the semis of the Tan Holdings Classic, came in fourth in the SIS tourney, and sixth in the White Coconut.

La Hunn Lam and Wataru Kadokura are tied for third with 1,250 points each. The former won both the singles and doubles events of Tan Holdings, while the latter finished third in the Tan Holdings and second in the White Coconut.

Hannah Chae, Irin Chung, Grace Choi, and Savita Sikkel are the Top 4 in the women’s 4.0 based solely in their performance in the Tan Holdings Classic where Chae (1,000 points) won the finals against Chung (750 points) and Choi and Sikkel (500 points each) made it to the semis.

In the men’s 3.0, Marlon Bercilla leads the list with 1,250 points followed by Dev Bachani and John Kennenth Casauran with 1,100 and 875 points, respectively.

Seiyul Hong, Mimi Culp, and Stephanie Kim are 1-2-3 in the women’s 3.0 with 250 points, 200 points, and 150 points, respectively.

Michelle Park leads the women’s 2.0 with the 1,000 points she got from the Tan Holdings Classic. Jalexia Rulona is second with 750 points following her runner-up finish to Park, while La Mee Lam and Jocelyn Paano both have 500 points for reaching the semis of the season-opening tourney.

In the men’s 40, Paul Jang is No. 1 with 1,000 points after winning both the Tan Holdings Classic and White Coconut Classic. Eric Abragan and John Bradley are tied at second with 750 points after runner-up finishes to Jang in the Tan Holdings and White Coconut, respectively.

Dong Min Lee currently rules the roost in the men’s 50 with 325 points. National coach and Sports Hall of Fame inductee Jeff Race, Ronnie Lacbayo, and Roy Pangelinan are all tied at second with 250 points each.

Lydia Tan, Eunkyoung Lee, and Annie Lai are the Top 3 in the women’s 50 with 250 points, 200 points, and 150 points, respectively, across their names. 

David Lai is the top 60-and-over player after winning the Tan Holdings Classic for 1,000 points. Felix Rulona is second with 938 points, while John Bradley is third with 625 points.

The rankings for the CNMI junior tennis players will be published next week in the Saipan Tribune.

Mark Rabago | Associate Editor
Mark Rabago is the Associate Editor of Saipan Tribune. Contact him at

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.