Committee membership forming


Chairpersons of the standing committees in the House of Representatives and Senate are in the process of forming their respective teams as the 20th Legislature settles in.

House Speaker Rafael S. Demapan (R-Saipan) had given positions to the 14 other GOP members in the House, with Rep. Janet U. Maratita getting the vice speaker post and Rep. Glenn L. Maratita is floor leader.

The Senate released its list of committee chairmanships a day after Senate President Arnold I. Palacios (R-Saipan), Senate vice president Steve K. Mesngon (R-Rota), and floor leader Francisco M. Borja (R-Tinian) assumed their posts.

House committee chairs have been talking with their colleagues, including the five-member minority.

Reps. Donald C. Barcinas (Transportation), Ivan A. Blanco (Judiciary and Governmental Operations), and Angel A. Demapan (Ways and Means) are among those who are forming the composition of their committees.

Rep. Vinson F. Sablan (Ind-Saipan) said, in an earlier interview that he would join a committee that he is comfortable with. “I would do my part to help out. If they want me to be in a particular committee and if I’m comfortable with it then I’ll be part of it.”

“But if I see that it is not my expertise, I will see if I could join it or see if I would be offered in another committee,” he added.

Reps. Francisco C. Aguon (Social and Human Services, Edwin P. Aldan (Education), Francisco S. Dela Cruz (Public Utilities and Communication), Joseph P. Deleon Guerrero (Gaming), Joseph Leepan T. Guerrero (Commerce and Tourism), Alice S. Igitol (Natural Resources), Jose I. Itibus (Health) and Gregorio M. Sablan Jr. (Federal and Foreign Affairs) are the other committee chairs.

In the Senate, Borja will also head the committees on Resources, Economic Development, and Programs along with the Federal Relations and Independent Agencies while Senate legislative secretary Sen. Justo S. Quitugua (Ind-Saipan) will remain as committee chair of Education and Youth Affairs while adding Rules and Procedures to his care.

Sen. Sixto K. Igisomar (R-Saipan) will stay with Public Utilities, Transportation, and Communications while also leading the Health and Welfare committees. Mesngon is the new Judiciary, Government, and Law chair.

Sens. Francisco Q. Cruz (R-Tinian) and Jude U. Hofschneider (R-Tinian) will continue to head the committees on Executive Appointments and Government Investigations, and Fiscal Affairs, respectively.

Jon Perez | Reporter
Jon Perez began his writing career as a sports reporter in the Philippines where he has covered local and international events. He became a news writer when he joined media network ABS-CBN. He joined the weekly DAWN, University of the East’s student newspaper, while in college.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.