Dandan school promotes 112


Dantean Middle School promoted 112 eighth graders who will go on to the next chapter of their lives last Wednesday, with dozens of community members and a few elected officials present to witness the eighth graders do their final walk as middle school students.

Dandan Middle School principal Lyn Mendiola challenged her former students to continue being resilient, motivated, and goal oriented.

“All the teachers and staff here at DMS are confident that we have instilled life-long lessons that you can truly benefit from when you get to high school,” she said.

During the promotion ceremony, awards were given in recognition of all the hard work each student gave for the duration of their stay at DMS. Awards given included the Board of Education award, the Commissioner of Education award, and more.

The Board of Education award, usually given to the student with the highest cumulative GPA from 6th to 8th grade, was awarded to Daling Peng. Peng also received the Social Studies, Health, and STEM awards.

The Commissioner of Education award, usually given to the student with the second highest cumulative GPA throughout their middle school years, was awarded to Tiara Cepeda. Cepeda was also awarded Chamorro/Carolinian Language Heritage Studies subject award.

The Leadership award was awarded to Sommer Gomez. Gomez was also given the Leadership Corps subject award.

Other subject awardees were Jelaina Santos (English Language and Video Production), Diana Cao (Math and Computer Literature), Haley Sangalang (Science), and Jayana Socorro (Art).

Kimberly Bautista Esmores | Reporter
Kimberly Bautista Esmores has covered a wide range of news beats, including the community, housing, crime, and more. She now covers sports for the Saipan Tribune. Contact her at kimberly_bautista@saipantribune.com.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.