Deleon Guerrero elected Speaker


On a vote of 11-9, Rep. Joseph P. Deleon Guerrero (Ind.-Saipan) was elected Speaker of the 19th House of Representatives this morning.

He defeated Rep. Ramon A. Tebuteb (Ind-Saipan).

After coalescing with the camp of Deleon Guerrero, Rep. Ralph S. Demapan (R-Saipan) was elected vice speaker with the same vote.

Demapan beat Rep. Roman Benavente (Ind.-Saipan).

In the floor leader post, again following the coalition lines Rep. George Camacho (R-Saipan) won over Rep. Edmund Villagomez (Ind-Saipan).

Also it’s a shared speakership. Deleon Guerrero will hold it in the first year and Demapan in the second.

More details in tomorrow’s Saipan Tribune.

Mark Rabago | Associate Editor
Mark Rabago is the Associate Editor of Saipan Tribune. Contact him at

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.