Dr. Rita H. Inos Jr. High School promotes 42


Valedictorian and Board of Education Awardee Sayera Sidur is celebrated by her Rota public school community. (CONTRIBUTED PHOTO)

ROTA—Forty-two Dr. Rita Hocog Inos Junior High School 8th grade promotees are moving into high school and a special drive-thru ceremony was held in their honor last May 27.

Class valedictorian is Sayera Sidur. She is also the recipient of the Board of Education Award. She received the award from BOE chair Andrew Orsini, vice chair Herman Atalig, board member Antonio Bora, and principal D. Tanya King.

The salutatorian and recipient of the Commissioner of Education Award is Ashley Cayabyab. Dr. Alfred B. Ada, along with King, presented the award.

Three other 8th grade students were promoted with top honors. They were Star Mendiola, Wynette Ogo, and Al Valentine Taitano, Jr.

Making the day extra special for the students, the school team set up a photo booth where each student, after receiving their certificates of promotion, could have their picture taken with their loved ones.

Education and elected leaders joined King, vice principal Annette Calvo, and the RHI school family during the promotion ceremony.

Commissioner of Education Award

Valedictorian Sidur is honored and proud of her accomplishment. “I began my schooling back in Bangladesh until I was in third grade. I was very sad when I had to leave all my friends and family behind to move here to Rota and start a new journey. …I struggled a lot because I wasn’t good at speaking or writing English. This made it difficult for me to do well in my class. But I didn’t give up. With the help of my teachers, my classmates, and my family, I was able to overcome the challenges I went through,” Sidur said. “Now, I can’t believe that I am the valedictorian of my class. I have definitely come a long way.”

Salutatorian Cayabyab honored parents for their support. “This is the day when we can make our parents proud.”

Joining education leaders in congratulating the promoted students were Sens. Paul A. Manglona and Teresita Santos, Rep. Donald Mendiola, Mayor Efraim Atalig, and Rota Municipal Council chair Jim Atalig, among others. (PSS)

Press Release
News under Press Release are official statements issued to Saipan Tribune giving information on a particular matter.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.