Fiesta slips past Saipan Ice


Fiesta Resort played only with six men and that nearly cost them a win in the Inter-Commercial Business Basketball League 2015 last Tuesday night at the Gilbert C. Ada Gymnasium.

Fiesta banked on Marlon De Dios and Lerio Pagarao’s game-long brilliance in squeezing out an 87-86 decision in the second game of a double-header that saw Public School System coasting to an 89-60 victory against IT&E in the opener.

The Fiesta-Saipan Ice match was a game of scoring spurts with neither team leading by more than 5 points, according to game officials.

De Dios scattered 35 points, 12 in the fourth quarter that helped Fiesta erase a 64-59 Saipan Ice lead after three quarters and secure their team’s narrow win. He also grabbed a game-high 17 rebounds and had three steals.

Pagarao added 26 points, 4 rebounds, 4 assists, and 3 steals, while Arjay Nonato tallied 13 markers. Elmer Esdrelon only scored 6 but collected 14 rebounds and issued a season-high 12 assists.

Patrick Rotap paced Saipan Ice with 31 points, John Santy chipped in 22 markers and had 15 rebounds, and Treat Kaipat scored 21. Ben Olopai had a double-double with 10 points and 15 rebounds.

Earlier, PSS pulled away early in the first quarter and did not slow down after that to cruise to the 29-point win.

Preston Basa led PSS’ balanced scoring with 16 points, Ezra Carro and Maverick Itibus contributed 14 markers apiece, while Marlon Cabrera ended up with 10 points.

Jerry Diaz had a near triple-double with 8 points, 9 rebounds, and 7 assists, while Jacoby Winkfield collared 10 boards and had 8 markers.

Nate Mateo paced IT&E’s losing cause with 28 points and 7 rebounds, while Errol Peredo chipped in 23 markers and 6 caroms.

The Top 6 teams, led by undefeated PIC, after the single eliminations move on to the double-round playoffs. The schedule was not yet available at press time.

First Game
PSS 89 – Basa 16, Carro 14, Itibus 14, Cabrera 10, Diaz 8, Winkfield 8, Villacrusis 6, Villagomez 6, Loste 4, Coldeen 3.

IT&E 60 – Mateo 28, Peredo 23, Aglipay 5, Bernal 4.

Scoring by quarters: 20-7, 40-17, 70-37, 89-60.

Second Game
Fiesta 87 – De Dios 35, Pagarao 26, Nonato 13, Esdrelon 6, Dimafelix 4, Arreza 3.

Saipan Ice 86 – Rotap 31, Santy 22, Kaipat 21, Olopai 10, Fernandez 2.

Scoring by quarters: 22-17, 41-37, 59-64, 87-86.

Jon Perez | Reporter
Jon Perez began his writing career as a sports reporter in the Philippines where he has covered local and international events. He became a news writer when he joined media network ABS-CBN. He joined the weekly DAWN, University of the East’s student newspaper, while in college.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.