GOP names 3 official Rota candidates


The CNMI Republican Party named yesterday three of their official candidates on Rota for the November elections—two for senator and one for mayor.
Ivan Blanco, chairman of the GOP Central Committee’s public relations team, said the GOP’s Rota senatorial candidates are current Rep. Teresita Santos (R-Rota) and Steve K. Mesngon, a retired resident director for the Department of Public Safety-Rota.

The GOP’s candidate for Rota mayor is Efrain M. Atalig, a former chief of staff for the past four Rota mayors, Blanco said.

The Republican Party will be announcing their Rota representative candidates, as well as their Tinian candidates, at a later time.

“We await Tinian’s endorsements,” Blanco added.

This follows the GOP’s previous endorsement of six more candidates for Saipan election precincts. On Saipan, the Republican Party has been trying to coalesce with independents and those from other parties, that’s why it has not been completing its slates for most precincts. These include Precinct 1 which has six House seats but the GOP slate only has four names, as well as Precinct 3 which has six seats but there are only three Republican bets.

With eight months to go before the November general polls, the CNMI may have three to four gubernatorial teams. The more candidates, the greater the chance for another gubernatorial runoff if no one gets at least 50 percent plus one of the votes cast in the general elections.

Haidee V. Eugenio | Reporter
Haidee V. Eugenio has covered politics, immigration, business and a host of other news beats as a longtime journalist in the CNMI, and is a recipient of professional awards and commendations, including the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s environmental achievement award for her environmental reporting. She is a graduate of the University of the Philippines Diliman.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.