Governor’s TOC donates $30K to four groups


Gov. Ralph DLG Torres, fourth left, DFS Saipan president Marian Aldan-Pierce, third left, and Miss Marianas Celine Cabrera pose with the recipients of the proceeds from the 23rd Governor’s Tournament of Champions and supporters of the annual event during the donation turnover ceremony last Sunday at the Laolao Bay Golf and Resort. (Roselyn B. Monroyo)

As promised, part of the proceeds from the 23rd Governor’s Tournament of Champions were donated to four non-profit groups to support their respective projects.

The Commonwealth Cancer Association was one of the recipients of the TOC proceeds, getting $10,000—the same amount given to the Lady Diane Torres Foundation. The 2018 Liberation Day Committee and Northern Marianas Athletics each received $5,000. Gov. Ralph DLG Torres and TOC co-founder and DFS Saipan president Marian Aldan-Pierce handed the ceremonial check donation to the representatives of the four groups during the awards ceremony for the tournament last Sunday at the Laolao Bay Golf & Resort.

Torres, in a brief speech, thanked all the supporters of TOC, adding that their generosity goes a long way, as they provide the help needed by various organizations on island and their worthy causes.

Aldan-Pierce also acknowledged all the TOC sponsors, players, and volunteers, as through their support TOC manages to continue its beautification projects on Saipan and also extend a helping hand to other members of the community.

Meanwhile, Dong Kyu Lee, Ken Duenas, Franklin Champaco, Joung Hoon Park, Nick Sablan, Chang Hee Yoo, and Yong Sook Kwon ruled their respective flights in the tournament held over the weekend.

Kwon topped the Ladies Low Net contest after shooting a 153.8 in two rounds. Teresita Blair (154.8) and Rose Tarpley (155.8) joined Kwon in the Top 3. In the Low Gross category, Yoo fired a 158 for a one-shot lead over Yuko Togawa, while Me Ae Jeon made it to the Top 3 after scoring 162.

In the A Flight, there was also a close fight with Dong Kyu beating Young Woo Lee in the playoff. The two golfers recorded identical scores of 163. Peter Tenorio was three shots behind to settle for third place.

In the B Flight, Duenas was the runaway winner after carding a 162, while Ray Aguon (173) defeated Das Krishnan (173) in the playoff for the runner-up honors.

In the C Flight, Champaco edged junior golfer Sebastian Camacho as the former logged 174 against the latter’s 75. Ron Benavente rounded out the Top 3 after recording a 178.

In the Seniors Flight, Park and Freddie Cataluna had similar scores of 148, but the Korean won in the playoff to place first. Joe “Kamikaze” Camacho was at close third with his 149. In the Super Senior, Sablan’s 154 beat the 156 and 168 of Victor Borja and Dennis Williams.

Roselyn Monroyo | Reporter
Roselyn Monroyo is the sports reporter of Saipan Tribune. She has been covering sports competitions for more than two decades. She is a basketball fan and learned to write baseball and football stories when she came to Saipan in 2005.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.