Homeless Prevention Coalition elects new board

Posted on Dec 17 2019

The CNMI Homeless Prevention Coalition elected a new board during a meeting last September, as the non-profit prepares for its 2020 Point-In-Time survey on Jan. 25, 2020.

Elected to the chairmanship is Christy Sakaziro of the Empty Vessel Ministry. She replaced Vivian T. Sablan of the Division of Youth Services.

Her vice chair is Chris Heeb of the Micronesian Legal Services Corp. and he succeeded Wayne Gillespie of the CNMI Salvation Army. The Coalition Against Domestic and Sexual Violence’s Maisie Tenorio is the new treasurer replacing Sheelane Borja from DYS. Gennie Bliss will continue her work as secretary of the coalition.

The 2020 Point-In-Time survey on Jan. 25 will be from 7am to 4pm and the coalition, according to Bliss, is looking for between 100 to 150 volunteers.

During its latest Point-In-Time survey, 500 households successfully took part in the census, with 290 deemed to be homeless households and 151 living in substandard homes.

Total number of homeless people in the CNMI was 1,018, while people living in substandard homes totaled 769.

Broken down, there were 227 homeless household on Saipan, 58 on Tinian, and five on Rota.

For more information or interested in volunteering for the upcoming Point-In-Time survey, contact Bliss at (670) 237-1000 or Jacob Muña at (670) 234-6866/9447.

Mark Rabago | Associate Editor
Mark Rabago is the Associate Editor of Saipan Tribune. Contact him at Mark_Rabago@saipantribune.com
Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.