Inos has 974-vote lead with 1 precinct to go on Saipan


With 3,814 votes, the CNMI Republican Party tandem of Gov. Eloy S. Inos and Senate President Ralph Torres (R-Saipan) have a 974-vote lead against independent candidate Heinz Hofschneider and his running mate, former Senate floor leader Ray Yumul. Hofschneider and Yumul currently sit with 2,840 votes.

With the Commonwealth Election Commission done tabulating Precincts 1, 2, 3, and 4-A, Inos and Torres have maintained their close to 1,000-vote lead.

Inos/Torres and Hofschneider/Yumul are followed by independent Juan Babauta/Juan Torres (1,653) and CNMI Democratic Party’s Edward Deleon Guerrero/Danilo Quitugua (333).

In the U.S. delegate race, incumbent Gregorio Kilili Sablan (Ind-MP) is slowly widening his lead against Andrew Salas with the three-time incumbent gaining 5,032 votes against the former Commerce secretary’s 3,098.

Mark Rabago | Associate Editor
Mark Rabago is the Associate Editor of Saipan Tribune. Contact him at

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.