• Mobil Smiles Reward

Jayton, Windsor nip foes in 400m

Posted on Apr 19 2021

Dela Cruz

Jayton Dela Cruz of Kagman Elementary School and Windsor Gross of Saipan International School barely squeaked by other contenders last Friday in the resumption of the 2021 Public School System All Schools Track and Field Championship at the Oleai Track and Field.

Dela Cruz won the boys 9U 400m in a time of 1:41, a fraction of a second ahead of runners-up Zane Palacios (1:43) and Ashton Manalo (1:44) also both of Kagman.

In the girls 9U 400m, Gross cleared the finish line in 1:36 barely ahead of Kagman’s Jemelyn Jones (1:39) and teammate Leilani Ruszala (1:41).

In the boys 12U 400m, Brilliant Star School’s Moshe Sikkel smoked the competition with a time of 1:08. Agape Christian Academy’s Danny Cheng was second in 1:20, while SIS’ Finn Altizer was third in 1:21:54.

SIS’ Suki Peng won the girls 12U 400m by clocking in at 1:26 followed by Arriola (1:26) Kagman’s Pualani Dela Cruz (1:29) and SIS’ Faith Arriola (1:30:42).

Kagman swept the boys 9U 100m, with Prince Romolor (18:17), Ashton Manalo (18:40), and Jayton Dela Cruz (18:75) finishing 1-2-3. BSS almost duplicated Kagman’s feat in the 12U with Aiden Camacho (14:27) and Sikkel (14:67) coming in first and second with ACS’ Danny Cheng (15:61) preventing a BSS sweep.

In the girls 9U 100m, Neveah Arriola (18:04) and Gross (18:68) sandwiched Kagman’s Jones (18:35), while in the 12U 100m ACS’ Barbara Wang lorded it over her age group with a time of 16:49 followed by Pualani Dela Cruz (16:83) and Audrey White (17:28).

The longest race of the day saw ACS’ Benjamim Cai top the boys 9U 1,500m with a time of 7:56. He was followed by BSS’ Damien Camacho and Evan Poole with times of 8:07:04 and 8:07:21, respectively. In the 12U division, Sikkel (6:14) beat Cheng (6:22) with Rayviel Escarlan rounding out the Top 3 (7:48).


SIS swept the girls 9U 1,500m, with Beatrice Gross making like Mercury with a time of 8:30 and teammates Yummy Peng and Michelle Im coming in at 9:38 and 10:36, respectively.

Results of the softball throw will be published in tomorrow’s issue of the Saipan Tribune.

The Public School System All Schools Track and Field Championship is being held in coordination with Northern Marianas Athletics.

Mark Rabago | Associate Editor
Mark Rabago is the Associate Editor of Saipan Tribune. Contact him at Mark_Rabago@saipantribune.com
Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.