Jesus Sablan elected anew as CEC chair


Commonwealth Election Commission chair Jesus I. Sablan presides over a board meeting yesterday afternoon at the CEC conference room. (FERDIE DE LA TORRE)

The Commonwealth Election Commission board yesterday elected Jesus I. Sablan as chairman, a position that he has been holding since 2018.

At a board meeting held at CEC’s conference room in Susupe, the board also elected Doris Ann Aldan-Atalig as vice chairwoman. Aldan-Atalig was just recently confirmed by the Senate as commissioner representing Saipan and Northern Islands.

CEC administrative officer Kayla Igitol said the commissioners all felt that since he was the most senior of the group, Sablan would be the best person to guide the board and the office.

Igitol said Sablan was nominated and he accepted it and all voted in his favor.

Sablan was first nominated as CEC commissioner in 2007 representing Saipan and the Northern Islands. When then-chair Frances M. Sablan’s term expired in August 2017, Sablan served as chairman pro tem.

Sablan began to serve as chairman in 2018. In September 2018, Gov. Ralph DLG Torres re-appointed Sablan for another four-year term as commissioner.

The other commissioners are Lelanie I. Manglona for Rota, John D. Attao for Tinian and Aguiguan, Vicenta A. Rosario for Saipan and Northern Islands, and Henry Emery Kaipat for Saipan and Northern Islands.

Ferdie De La Torre | Reporter
Ferdie Ponce de la Torre is a senior reporter of Saipan Tribune. He has a bachelor’s degree in journalism and has covered all news beats in the CNMI. He is a recipient of the CNMI Supreme Court Justice Award. Contact him at

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.