Jin tops AD2023 Inauguration Golf tourney

Posted on Jan 09 2023

Feng Chun Jin, AD2023 Inauguration Golf Tournament winner, is flanked by governor-elect Arnold I. Palacios, right, and lieutenant governor-elect David M. Apatang’s during the awards ceremony Saturday at the Laolao Bay Golf & Resort. (MARK RABAGO)

Golf instructor Feng Chun Jin showed his students how it’s done by winning the AD2023 Inauguration Golf Tournament last Saturday at the Laolao Bay Golf & Resort.

The 31-year-old from China fired a net score of 68.40 in the double peoria tournament to beat runner-up Sunho Kang, who wound up with a 69.40.

Rounding out the Top 3 was Ming Zhe Li with his 70.20, while the rest of the Top 10 with prize money were Amier Younis (70.60), Joe “Kamikaze” Camacho (70.80), Zhi Min Jin (71.00), Tony Benavente (71.00), Cameron Nicholas (71.00), Joseph Camacho (71.20), and Frank Sablan (71.20). Ties were decided by scorecard tiebreak. 

Jin said he didn’t even think about winning the tournament much less the $1,000 first place purse because it’s a double peoria format. 

“Not really…as the greens were just a little but slow. It was also so windy so playing was a bit hard.”

Asked what was his best hole in the tourney, Jin immediately said it was hole No. 11.

“I hit a shot and it was straight but just came up short [for an ace] and wound up with a birdie putt.”

Kang, Li, Younis, “Kamikaze” Camacho took home $800, $600, $400, $200, respectively, for placing in the Top 5, while sixth to 10th received $100 each.

In the closest to the pin competition, Flor Jones won in hole No. 4, Roland Merar in hole No. 6, Sylvester Javier in hole No. 11, and Manny Managarero was without peer in hole No. 15.

Jones, Merar, and Javier pocketed $100 each for their troubles, while Managarero matched Jin’s $1,000 winnings in just one lucky shot.

The AD2023 Inauguration Golf Tournament was held to help defray the cost of governor-elect Arnold I. Palacios and lieutenant governor-elect David M. Apatang’s inauguration today.

Both incoming top officials graced the tournament and congratulated the winners as well as thanked everyone who participated in the one-off event. Palacios and Apatang’s also extended their gratitude to the sponsors of the AD2023 Inauguration Golf Tournament.

The expansive list of sponsors include 360 Restaurant, A&P LLC, AK Toyota, All Star Sporting Goods, Bank of Guam, Bovers Trading/Ginen Saipan, Bridge Capital, Calvo’s Enterprise, Calvo’s Insurance, Chong’s Corp., Coral Ocean Resort, Crowne Plaza Resort, D&W Saipan, Dial Rent to Own, Docomo Pacific, E-Land Group, First Hawaiian Bank, Godfather’s Restaurant and Bar, Grandvrio Resort Saipan, Herman’s Bakery, Hong Ye, Love Saipan, IP&E, IT&E, J&G Enterprises, J.E.T. Holdings, JC Café’ Restaurant & Karaoke Lounge Tinian, Jeju Air, G Sablan Ice & Water, Joeten Enterprises, Joeten Motors, K.L. Carr, Laolao Bay Golf & Resort, Mariana Lighthouse, Marianas Carrier (Advanced Carrier Inc), Marianas Coffee, Marianas Southern Airlines, Marianas Variety, MarPac, McDonald Guam & Saipan, Megabyte, Micronesia Air Cargo/Skydive, MLJ Development and Investment Corp., Pacific Rim/Paradiso Hotel, Pacific Trading Co., Pacific Islands Club Saipan, Plumeria Steak House, Power 99, RPCF, Safety First, Saipan Apparel, Saipan Select, Saipan Shipping, Saipan World Resort, Star Jewelry, Staywell, Tan Holding Corp., Tan Siu Lin Foundation, The Athlete’s Foot, Top Shelf Golf, Top Shelf Wine and Spirit, Traders Insurance Co., Triple J Group Companies, Triple J Motors, TWay, and Westco.

Mark Rabago | Associate Editor
Mark Rabago is the Associate Editor of Saipan Tribune. Contact him at Mark_Rabago@saipantribune.com
Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.