Kanoa secures co-ed U12 division title


Two Kanoa Football Club players go for the ball during an earlier game against Shirley’s FC in the co-ed U12 division of the 2019 NMIFA Spring Youth League at the NMI Soccer Training Center in Koblerville. (Roselyn B. Monroyo)

Kanoa Football Club bagged the co-ed U12 division crown in the 2019 NMIFA Spring Youth League following another victory last Saturday at the NMI Soccer Training Center in Koblerville.

Kanoa downed TanHoldings FC, 7-2, to improve its win-draw-loss record to 7-0-0. Only two playing weekends (April 27 and May 4) are left in the three-round robin contest and Kanoa is four victories ahead of TanHoldings and MP United.

Paul Lizama stood out in Kanoa’s triumph over TanHoldings after making four goals. Taehun Han added two goals, while Tyler Omelau had one. Andre Kaitlyn Chavez drilled the pair of goals for TanHoldings.

In the other co-ed U12 match, Shirley’s notched its first win of the season after stunning MP United, 3-1. Jurvin Bisek and Edward Arriola scored for Shirley’s, which got an own goal right in the second minute of the game. Kelly McCallion registered the only goal for MP United.

Kanoa-1 9, Kanoa-2 0

Kanoa-1 is also on track to its title bid in the boys U15 division after keeping its record perfect following a rout of Kanoa-2
Sean Gil fired three goals in Kanoa-1’s lopsided win, while Markus Toves and Jaydee Jose chipped in two each, and Jim Maniago and Merrick Toves added one apiece.

MP United 8, TanHoldings 0
MP United is in contention, too, for the division crown, as it dominated TanHoldings and is just one victory behind Kanoa-1.

Dylan Mister made two goals for MP United, which drew one goal each from six different players to hammer TanHoldings.

Shirley’s 9, Matansa 0
Shirley’s also cruised to victory last weekend after blanking Matansa.
Rakib Hassan led Shirley’s assault after scoring four goals. Devin Igisomar was equally impressive after bagging three goals, while Harry Kapwich and Ratul Robait contributed one each.

MP United 3, Matansa 2

MP United closed in on the division championship after nosing out Matansa last Friday.

Joshua Abragan drilled the go-ahead goal in the 49th minute, while Jason Quiamzon and Sunjoon Tenorio scored the two other goals for MP United. Raffy Lee and Razeff Altamirano delivered the pair of goals for Matansa.

With the win, MP United kept its undefeated record and moved two victories ahead of TanHoldings with two matches left in the double-round robin competition.

TanHoldings 5, Kanoa 0
In the other match in the division, TanHoldings shut down Kanoa.

Joshua Waldo hit the board first for TanHoldings and Joshua Mendez handed the team its second goal before Mark Esalan finished off Kanoa with his hat trick.

Meanwhile, there will be no games in the league this weekend in observance of the Lenten season.

Roselyn Monroyo | Reporter
Roselyn Monroyo is the sports reporter of Saipan Tribune. She has been covering sports competitions for more than two decades. She is a basketball fan and learned to write baseball and football stories when she came to Saipan in 2005.
Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.