Kanoa, TanHoldings-1 stay on top


Kanoa Football Club, right, and Shirley’s FC players collide as they fight for the ball during the second half of their boys U15 division game in the 2018 NMIFA Spring Youth League last Saturday at the Koblerville Elementary School Field. (Roselyn B. Monroyo)

Kanoa Football Club and TanHoldings-1 retained the No. 1 spot in their respective divisions after recording victories last Saturday in the 2018 NMIFA Spring Youth League.

In the co-ed U13 division, TanHoldings downed Matansa at the Hopwood Middle School Field, 7-4, to gain a 5-0-0 win-loss-draw record and keep its lead against MP United (4-1-0), Kanoa-1 (2-1-2), Matansa (2-0-3), Kanoa-2 (1-0-4), and TanHoldings-2 (0-0-5).

Angelo Pulido and Anthony Bergancia teamed up in lifting TanHoldings-1 to its fifth victory in as many games. Pulido drilled TanHoldings-1’s first three goals, as he scored in the ninth, 15th, and 28th minute. His hat trick allowed TanHoldings to hang on to a 3-2 lead at the break. Matansa kept TanHoldings-1 within striking distance, thanks to Alex Megino and Xin Wen Jin’s goals in the fourth and 21st minute.

TanHoldings-1 then gained enough cushion in the second half with Bergancia taking over from Pulido. Bergancia found the back of the net in the 33rd, 39th, 42nd, and 51st minute to outgun Matansa, which got its two goals from Jin (37th minute) and Chanyang Woo (55th).

Meanwhile, MP United is breathing down TanHoldings-1’s neck after posting win No. 4 against TanHoldings-2.

Andrew Chung, Dev Bachani and Evan Mendiola delivered the goods for MP United. Chung scored in the third and 52nd minute, while Bachani duplicated that feat in sixth and 58th, and Mendiola hit the board in the 48th.

In other results in the division, Kanoa-2 pulled off an upset over sister team Kanoa-1, 4-2.

Tyler Omelau towed Kanoa-2 to its first victory of the season after making a hat trick, which he recorded in succession. The Kanoa-2 striker’s goals were registered in the 38th, 39th, and 55th minute, while Izeh Jolo gave the squad its first goal in the 13th.

Kanoa-2 got its pair of goals from Markus Toves and John Mark Anastacio in the 26th and 50th minute.

Kanoa 9, Shirley’s 0

Kanoa is still unbeaten in the division following a shutout win over Shirley’s at the Koblerville Elementary School Field.

Kanoa, with its 5-1-0 mark, kept its distance against MP United (4-1-1), TanHoldings (3-1-2), Matansa (3-1-2), Paire (1-0-5), and Shirley’s (0-0-6).

Ian Karl Maniago led Kanoa’s demolition of Shirley’s after firing three goals. Markus Toves chipped in two goals, while Jonathan Mindanao, Merrick Toves, and Taehun Han added one apiece. Kanoa was also awarded an own goal.

MP United 8, Paire 0
MP United also cruised to victory against Paire.

Richard Steele starred in MP United’s fourth win after scoring in the 33rd , 35th, and 37th minute. Rintaro Miyawaki contributed two goals, while Jason Quimson, Oliver Fajardo, and Rinto Takahashi added one each.

TanHoldings 6, Matansa 1
TanHoldings notched its third win after dominating Matansa.

Taka Borja did most of the damage for TanHoldings, as he recorded four goals. He had one goal in the first half (18th minute) and then tallied TanHoldings’ last three goals, scoring in the 46th, 66th, and 67th minute.

Pulido and Taro Goto delivered the two other goals for TanHoldings, while Elijah Villamena posted the lone goal for Matansa.

Roselyn Monroyo | Reporter
Roselyn Monroyo is the sports reporter of Saipan Tribune. She has been covering sports competitions for more than two decades. She is a basketball fan and learned to write baseball and football stories when she came to Saipan in 2005.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.