Legends didn’t fall in Turkey Cross Race

Posted on Dec 02 2022

Marianas Racing Association president Charles Cepeda in action in the Legends Class of last weekend’s Turkey Cross Race at the Cowtown Race Track. (LAO ZHANG)


Marianas Racing Association president Charles Cepeda turned back the hands of time to top the Legends Class of last weekend’s Turkey Cross Race at the Cowtown Race Track.

The Northern Marianas College Board of Regents chair won both heats en route to scoring 50 points. Dave Burger also showed off and finished runner-up with 42 points with Guam’s Kim Aiken placing third with 38 points.

“The Legends Class was put together to bring those who used to race at the Old People’s Park track. We had a small group on Saturday who graced current riders at the track. On Sunday even more came. It’s a class where we had fun with each other. Having the opportunity to race with Kim Aiken, Steve Sablan, Patrick Cabrera, and Dave Burger was the highlight for me,” said Cepeda.

The MRA president as a gesture of friendship later presented the first place trophy in the Legends Class to Aiken.

“I gave the first place trophy to Kim Aiken as a souvenir since he suggested having the class put together to see who would come,” said Cepeda.

For his part, Aiken was humbled with Cepeda’s gesture and said he will always consider Saipan home.

“Charles gave me his trophy and I didn’t deserve it but I took it anyway out of respect. I love my island of Saipan. And it was beautiful for the race team from Guam to get to meet and raceagainst their island brothers. The whole thing was beautiful. Seeing the kids playing together and laughing and having a good time made my heart warm,” he said.

In the Veterans Class, New Zealand’s Tim Wenden edged Cuki Alvarez after both finished with 47 points. The former, however, took the win after taking the second heat. Dave Celis was third with 40 points.

Ethan Yumul, meanwhile, lorded it over in the Novice Class after winning both heats for 50 points. Guam’s Kanen Arceo was second with 42 points and Aric Cruz third with 37 points.

In the Big Boy ATV Class, Christian “Hollywood” Camacho showed how it’s done by again sweeping both heats for 50 points. Guam’s James Lujan and Pier Banes came second and third with 42 points and 36 points, respectively.

Guam won the Mini ATV Class with Lorenzo Gavin topping both races for 50 points. Anella Igitol was second with 40 points, while Kassidy Camacho was third with 37 points.

The Peewee ATV Class was topped by Rockson Cabrera after breaking his tie with Giancarlo Lorenzo. Both came away with 47 points, but Cabrera won the second heat for the trophy. Brooklynn Susulin came third with 38 points.

In all, CNMI riders won nine of the 14 divisions in the Turkey Cross Race.

Mark Rabago | Associate Editor
Mark Rabago is the Associate Editor of Saipan Tribune. Contact him at Mark_Rabago@saipantribune.com
Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.