Mendoza, Mizer get MVP awards

Young guns Kobee Mendoza and Chris Mizer brought home MVP trophies at the conclusion of the DL Corp Invitational Basketball League Season 4 last Sunday night at the Gillette Multipurpose Gymnasium.

Mizer was awarded the regular season MVP trophy, while Mendoza bagged the Finals MVP plum. DL Corp. owner and manager Joe Digno and league commissioner Sonny Ebuen presented the trophies to the two MVPs.

The 19-year-old Mizer won the coveted individual award for helping Hite Jinro top the round-robin regular season. Hite Jinro finished the elimination with a 7-1 record, beating San Antonio in the tiebreak for first place due to the winner-over-the other rule. Mizer had a double figure average in eight games, recording his best output (21 points) in their win over deposed champion Island Floral (formerly Island Manpower).

In the two games in the playoffs, Mizer also averaged in twin digits (12.5) after tallying a game-high 18 points in their 70-85 finals loss to San Antonio and 7 in their 77-75 semis victory over Island Floral.

Mendoza, on the other hand, averaged 14.5 points in his last two games with San Antonio, chipping in 12 in their 103-95 win over Saipan Ice in the semifinals and 17 in their title victory over Hite Jinro.

The Marianas High School standout did not top-score for San Antonio in the finals, but he led a pivotal breakaway in the third period to lift his team to the 15-point championship win. Mendoza anchored a 13-2 run to turn a 43-39 advantage to a 56-41 margin in the third and provided stability in the fourth to help San Antonio keep its double-digit lead against Hite Jinro. In that spurt, Mendoza scored eight points, six of them came in succession.

The Finals MVP was Mendoza’s second MVP award this year, as he earlier bagged the regular season MVP plum in the DLX caging over at the Gualo Rai Basketball Court.

Meanwhile, besides the MVP awards, league officials handed out trophies, too to the members of the Mythical Five. Mizer led the elite group and was joined by teammate Kevin De Leon, Saipan Ice’s Derrick Rangamar, San Antonio’s Jaymark De Guzman, and Island Floral’s Butch Kaipat. The league also recognized San Antonio’s Florie De Guzman as Best Coach, while Maplas was awarded the sportsmanship trophy, and the nine participating teams were given certificates of appreciation.

Roselyn Monroyo | Reporter
Roselyn Monroyo is the sports reporter of Saipan Tribune. She has been covering sports competitions for more than two decades. She is a basketball fan and learned to write baseball and football stories when she came to Saipan in 2005.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.