• Mobil Smiles Reward

MHS Rhythm ‘N Harmony triumphs as overall winner


Marianas High School’s glee club Rhythm ‘N Harmony was declared the overall winner of the weeklong 2015 Tumon Bay Musical Festival last Saturday, making it the third consecutive win for the group in the annual music competition.

Rhythm ‘N Harmony, under the baton of musical director Paul Dujua, got the Judge’s Choice award for High School Choir and much-coveted Sweepstakes Trophy. Dujua said the Sweepstakes plum is the highest overall award at the festival. The group also won the same award in 2012 and 2013—making it three for three and a win for each time they’ve been joining the competition.

Miguel Aninon, under the MHS Glee Club, got the honorable mention for solo and was asked to join the festival’s command performance.

Members for MHS Glee Club include Shaina Santiago, Joselle Reyes, Miguel Aninon, Jameson Lee, Riczi Cano, Diane Hermogenes, Leonard Manuel, John Huevos, Noel Jimenes, Annabel Manzo, Shandel Cayabyab, Anne M. Cruz, Ma Clarinda Catalma, Roland Balajadia, Neil Fama, and Paula Gozon.

The MHS Pep Band, meanwhile, got the silver award and MHS Chorale got gold and the Judge’s Choice award for small ensemble.

MHS Chorale students also took part in duets, solos, and ensembles. The duet called Madri Girl’s got the gold and received the Judge’s Choice award for small ensemble. Justina Lee got honorable mention for piano. Five other individuals who performed solo got silver and another duet got silver as well.

MHS Chorale members include John Huevos (baritone), Lorenzy Leo (alto), Joselle Reyes (soprano), Paula Gozon (alto, vocal duet), Justina Lee (soprano, piano), Ann Norcio (soprano), Rodileen Morales (alto), Kaela Valencia (alto), Roland Balajadia (baritone), and Miguel Aninon (tenor, vocal).

MHS Pep band members include Rebecca Albiento (bass guitar), Joyce Alfonso (trombone), Angela Aninon (piano), Jullianne Bigueras (drums) Marcy Ermitanion (trombone and “f horn”), Lester Garcia (lead guitar), Daniel Han (trumpet), Kathy He (clarinet), Diana Lopera (alto sax), Karl Marcellan (rhythm guitar), Noemy Pamintuan (trombone), Angelica Racelis (clarinet), Nickles Salmon (bass clarinet), and Nina Valerio (piccolo).

MHS vice principal Hazel Tudela noted that MHS will be bringing home the biggest trophies and most awards from the festival this year.

“Many of our students garnered gold and silver ratings on their performances. We want to say thank you to Paul Dujua, Harold Easton, Ruthi Fruit, David Frahm, MHS PTA, and all who supported and helped our students,” Tudela said.

TBMF, which ran for eight days from March 7 to 14, invited students, musicians, bands, chorale groups, and instrumental players to Tumon, Guam to showcase their musical talents.

Jayson Camacho | Reporter
Jayson Camacho covers community events, tourism, and general news coverages. Contact him at jayson_camacho@saipantribune.com.

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.