MPU are U12, U15 champs of President’s Cup


MP United topped both the U12 and U15 divisions of the President’s Cup last Saturday at the NMI Soccer Training Center in Koblerville.

In the U12 finals, MP United 2 took home the title via a 2-0 victory over Paire Football Club. Meanwhile, their sister team, MP United 1, gained a 3-2 victory over Kanoa FC in the U15 Finals..

MP United 2 consisted of members Riku Takahashi, Silva Keanu, Moshe Sikkel, Lillian Moroney, Richard Zhao, Matthew Peng, Landon Pudney, Landon Springer Jordan, Stephen Yeom, Henry Yeom, and David Peng.

MP United 1’s team members were Aubrey Castro, Fona Regan, Stephanie Woo, Jack Raho, William Lee, Kaithlyn Chavez, Cody Shimizu, Takeru Jim, Sean Park, and Jun Kim.

In the U12 double eliminations tournament, MP United 2 swept all its matches, finishing the tournament undefeated. They came out on top in their match against TanHoldings, 2-0, who managed to advance after besting Matansa FC, 3-0.

Following their victory against TanHoldings, MP United 2 continued their win streak and landed the first finals seat by dominating Shirley’s, 2-0, who gained a match against MP United 2 after beating sister team MP United 1, 1-0.

The division runner-up also swept all its matches before ultimately losing to MP United 2. They conquered their first match with a 1-0 over Southern United.

The team moved on to beat Kanoa, 3-0, before advancing to its match against TanHoldings where they won 3-2.

In the quarterfinals, Paire faced MP United 1, gaining a 1-0 victory before edging out Shirley’s in the semifinals, 2-0, to land the second finals seat.

Meanwhile, in the U15 division, MP United 1 took home the title after sweeping all its matches, first beating Paire, 2-0, who bested TanHoldings in their prior match, 1-0.

MP United 1 moved on to battle Kanoa 2 where they took a 1-0 victory to advance to the finals.

Kanoa 2, after losing their first shot at the finals seat, fought in the losers bracket for another shot at the title.

In the semifinals, Kanoa 2 bested MP United 2, 1-0, to gain the second finals seat.

MP United 2 was the undefeated team in the bottom bracket before facing Kanoa 2. The team edged out TanHoldings, 2-1, before moving on to beat Paire, 4-0.

In the quarterfinals, MP United 2 outplayed Matansa, 4-3, to gain access to the semifinals.

Results for the other divisions will be published throughout the week.

Kimberly B. Esmores | Reporter
Kimberly Albiso Bautista has covered a wide range of news beats, including the community, housing, crime, and more. She now covers sports for the Saipan Tribune. Contact her at

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.